01.04.1915 – 30.04.1915

Volume: 100 pages
Price: 25,00 

Seyyal Carnetto, artistic and executive Co-Director of the Academy of Visual Arts, Frankfurt investigates the political facts of the genocide of the Armenians employing the mediums language and graphics. With the use of the method of “transnotation,” Carnetto in her publication sounds out the conflicting realms of bureaucracy and poetry as well as the interrelations of language and society in a surprising way.

In her book, Carnetto uses a “wordsmith” process. She viewed reports, notifications and decrees from the Political Archive of the German Department of Foreign Affairs relating to the period of the book’s title, transscribed the documents and subsequently cut up and placed the linguistic material afresh. The result is a remarkable poetisation of the raw material. “01.04.1915 – 30.04.1915” is furthermore a significant example for the Academy of Visual Arts’ approach to integrate the tools of design in political and societal questions and implement them as a means for critical perspective.

At the same time, the method of transnotation in the medium of art and with the use of graphic means, lifts the historic and political matter in a surprising way into consciousness. Seyyal Carnetto updates it and requests confrontation with this dark chapter of history.
The documents, that slumber in the archives hardly receiving any public attention, become explosive material. The manoeuvrability and manipulation potential of language become visible. From sober and bureaucratic processes the lifted linguistic material comes to life. No premature judgment but a subtle and thorough approach.

Author
Design
Paper

Manilakarton 350 g/m2, Alsterwerkdruck 120 g/m2

Volume

100 pages

Language

German

Format in cm (w × h × d)
10 in stock

01.04.1915 – 30.04.1915

Umfang: 100 Seiten
Format: 28 × 21 cm
Preis: 25,00 

Seyyal Carnetto, künstlerischer und geschäftsführender Co-Direktor der Akademie der Bildenden Künste, Frankfurt, untersucht die politischen Fakten des Völkermords an den Armeniern mit Hilfe der Medien Sprache und Grafik. Mit der Methode der »Transnotation« lotet Carnetto in ihrer Publikation die gegensätzlichen Bereiche von Bürokratie und Poesie sowie die Wechselbeziehungen von Sprache und Gesellschaft auf überraschende Weise aus.

In ihrem Buch verwendet Carnetto einen »Wortschöpfungsprozess«. Sie sah sich Berichte, Mitteilungen und Erlasse des Politischen Archivs des Auswärtigen Amtes über den Zeitraum des Buchtitels an, transkribierte die Dokumente und zerschnitt sie anschließend und platzierte das Sprachmaterial neu. Das Ergebnis ist eine bemerkenswerte Poesie des Rohmaterials. »01.04.1915 – 30.04.1915« ist darüber hinaus ein wichtiges Beispiel für den Ansatz der Akademie der Bildenden Künste, die Werkzeuge des Designs in politische und gesellschaftliche Fragen zu integrieren und als Mittel zur kritischen Perspektive einzusetzen.

Gleichzeitig hebt die Methode der Transnotation im Medium Kunst und mit grafischen Mitteln die historische und politische Materie auf überraschende Weise ins Bewusstsein. Seyyal Carnetto aktualisiert es und fordert die Konfrontation mit diesem dunklen Kapitel der Geschichte.

Die Dokumente, die in den Archiven schlummern und kaum öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit erregen, werden zu explosiven Materialien. Die Manövrierfähigkeit und das Manipulationspotenzial der Sprache werden sichtbar. Aus nüchternen und bürokratischen Prozessen wird das angehobene Sprachmaterial lebendig. Kein vorzeitiges Urteil, sondern eine subtile und gründliche Vorgehensweise.

Autor

Seyyal Carnetto

Gestaltung

Gina Mönch, Berlin

Papier

Manilakarton 350 g/m2, Alsterwerkdruck 120 g/m2

Umfang

100 Seiten

Sprache

Deutsch

Format in cm (b × h × t)

28 × 21 cm

10 vorrätig