Page Design – New Layout and Editorial Design

Release: March 2019
Volume: 240 pages
Price: 45,00 

In today’s highly digital environment, the pleasure of the touch, smell and weight of paper as we hold it in our hands is taking on new value. In the graphic design sector, technology is taking giant steps forward, providing designers with increasingly sophisticated tools for producing high-impact designs. In this context, print publications are becoming exclusive objects, and this means that they need designs, textures and finishes that make them especially desirable.

In the future, the publications that stand the test of time will be those which we wish to preserve because they feature the beauty of handmade objects. Page Design pays tribute to the tradition of print editorial design by focusing on its outstanding contemporary value. This volume offers a panorama of contemporary trends and styles through a selection of one hundred projects of different sizes, from flyers and magazines to posters, catalogs and books. The projects featured are a statement of aesthetic and conceptual principles that take on a special power going beyond the purely visual when placed in readers’ hands. Containing case studies and tips and tricks, this book is full of ideas on page layout, interaction between sections and the optimum way to convey a message. It is a perfect reference work for designers that will rekindle readers’ love of printed works as objects with an enduring value.

Wang Shaoqiang is a professor and graduate supervisor at the Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts (China). He is a prolific editor whose works focus on international design, architecture, branding, communication, trends, and culture. He is also the editor of Design 360° magazine and Asia-Pacific Design. He has been invited to lecture at numerous universities, design academies, and organizations, and he has also been a jury member for China’s most prestigious design and illustration awards. Mr. Wang is also director of the Guangdong Museum of Art and professor and doctoral supervisor at the College of Arts and Humanities within the Macau University of Science and Technology.

Publisher

HOAKI BOOKS

Editor
Release

March 2019

Format in cm (w × h × d)
Volume

240 pages

Bookbinding

Hardcover, Thread binding

Page Design – New Layout and Editorial Design

Veröffentlichung: März 2019
Umfang: 240 Seiten
Format: 21 × 28 cm
Preis: 45,00 

In der heutigen hochdigitalen Umgebung gewinnt die Freude an der Berührung, dem Geruch und dem Gewicht von Papier, wie wir es in den Händen halten, immer mehr an Wert. Im Bereich des Grafikdesigns geht die Technologie einen großen Schritt weiter und bietet den Designern immer ausgefeiltere Werkzeuge für die Herstellung von Designs mit hoher Wirkung. In diesem Zusammenhang werden Printpublikationen zu exklusiven Objekten, und das bedeutet, dass sie Designs, Texturen und Oberflächen benötigen, die sie besonders begehrenswert machen.

In Zukunft werden die Publikationen, die sich im Laufe der Zeit bewährt haben, diejenigen sein, die wir bewahren wollen, weil sie die Schönheit handgefertigter Objekte zeigen. Page Design würdigt die Tradition des Print-Redaktionsdesigns und konzentriert sich auf seinen herausragenden Zeitwert. Dieser Band bietet ein Panorama zeitgenössischer Trends und Stile durch eine Auswahl von hundert Projekten unterschiedlicher Größe, von Flyern und Zeitschriften über Poster, Kataloge und Bücher. Die vorgestellten Projekte sind eine Aussage über ästhetische und konzeptionelle Prinzipien, die eine besondere Kraft annehmen, die über das rein Visuelle hinausgeht, wenn sie in die Hände der Leser gelegt werden. Mit Fallstudien und Tipps und Tricks steckt dieses Buch voller Ideen für das Seitenlayout, die Interaktion zwischen den Abschnitten und die optimale Art, eine Botschaft zu vermitteln. Es ist ein perfektes Nachschlagewerk für Designer, das die Liebe der Leser zu Druckwerken als Objekte mit bleibendem Wert wieder aufleben lässt.

Wang Shaoqiang ist Professor und Doktorvater an der Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts (China). Er ist ein produktiver Redakteur, dessen Arbeiten sich auf internationales Design, Architektur, Branding, Kommunikation, Trends und Kultur konzentrieren. Er ist auch Redakteur des Design 360° Magazins und des Asia-Pacific Design. Er wurde zu Vorträgen an zahlreichen Universitäten, Designakademien und Organisationen eingeladen, und er war auch Jurymitglied bei den renommiertesten Design- und Illustrationspreisen Chinas. Herr Wang ist auch Direktor des Guangdong Museum of Art und Professor und Doktorvater am College of Arts and Humanities der Macau University of Science and Technology.

Verlag

HOAKI BOOKS

Herausgeber

Shaoqiang Wang

Veröffentlichung

März 2019

Format in cm (b × h × t)

21 × 28 cm

Umfang

240 Seiten

Buchbindung

Fadenheftung, Hardcover