Schiff nach Europa – Special Edition

Release: 2015
Volume: 218 pages
Format: 16 x 24 x 3 cm
Price: 175,00 

Markus Kutter’s novel Schiff nach Europa—“visually organised” by Karl Gerstner—“assumes an early experimental position that will become generally established in book design only several years later”, wrote François Rappo. By dint of its typography matching the text, it can be seen as a milestone in Swiss book design and was awarded the Most Beautiful Swiss Book prize in 1957.

The “synthetic novel” plot (a passage from New York to Europe on the Andrea Doria, later to sink) consists of diffferent types of text – narrative, drama, conversation and monologue. Even while writing, Markus Kutter envisaged the text having to be staged by means of the appropriate typography. Karl Gerstner described this task as a “personal experiment” and a “special treat”.
Looking at the book, you can sense the gratification at having realised “integral typography”, and it communicates itself to the reader.

The book has been out of print for years and is much sought-after by collectors. The reprint gives many readers the opportunity to finally hold this cult book in their own hands for the first time. The reprint is true to the original, a dust-jacket printed on both sides features both the original cover and the updated version with a commentary by Felix Wiedler.

Publisher

Triest Verlag

Release

2015

Author
Design

Karl Gerstner, Wessinger und Peng

Edition

Special edition. Limited edition of 100 pieces.

Format in cm (w × h × d)

16 x 24 x 3 cm

Volume

218 pages

Workmanship

in a handmade linen-based cassette with screen printing, Linen band with dust jacket printed on both sides

Bookbinding

Buchbinderei Bruder, Ottersweier, Josef Spinner Großbuchbinderei

Language

German

ISBN

978-3-03863-001-2

Schiff nach Europa – Sonderausgabe

Veröffentlichung: 2015
Umfang: 218 Seiten
Format: 16 × 24 × 3 cm
Preis: 175,00 

Markus Kutters Roman »Schiff nach Europa« – »optisch organisiert« von Karl Gerstner – »nimmt früh eine experimentelle Position ein, die in der Buchgestaltung erst einige Jahre später zum Durchbruch gelangen wird«, schrieb François Rappo. Es ist durch seine auf den Text abgestimmte Typografie als Meilenstein der Schweizer Buchgestaltung anzusehen und wurde 1957 als Schönstes Schweizer Buch ausgezeichnet.

Der als synthetischer Roman bezeichnete Inhalt (eine Schiffspassage von New York nach Europa auf der später gesunkenen Andrea Doria) besteht aus verschiedenen Textsorten – Erzählung, Drama, Gespräch und Monolog. Markus Kutter stellte sich bereits beim Schreiben vor, dass der Text typografisch entsprechend inszeniert werden müsste. Karls Gerstner beschrieb diese Aufgabe als »persönliches Experiment« und »besondere Delikatesse.«

Die Freude, »integrale Typographie« umgesetzt zu haben, ist dem Buch anzumerken und springt auf die Leser über.
Das Buch ist seit Jahren vergriffen und von Sammlern gesucht. Der Reprint ist originalgetreu, ein beidseitig bedruckter Schutzumschlag liefert sowohl das ursprüngliche Cover als auch die aktualisierte Version mit einem Kommentar von Felix Wiedler.

Verlag

Triest Verlag

Veröffentlichung

2015

Autor

Markus Kutter

Gestaltung

Karl Gerstner, Wessinger und Peng

Auflage

Sonderausgabe. Limitierte Auflage von 100 Stück.

Format in cm (b × h × t)

16 × 24 × 3 cm

Umfang

218 Seiten

Ausführung/Verarbeitung

in einer handgefertigten leinenbezogenen Kassette mit Siebdruck, Leinenband mit beidseitig bedrucktem Schutzumschlag

Buchbindung

Buchbinderei Bruder, Ottersweier, Josef Spinner Großbuchbinderei

Sprache

Deutsch

ISBN

978-3-03863-001-2