SPRING #16 – Sex

Release: September 2019
Volume: 256 pages
Format: 20 × 24 cm
Price: 24,00 

How do you illustrate something that is extremely private, intimate and unique to all of us? Sex is inherently inscribed into human—and yet culturally one of the most elaborate themes of life. It connects and separates us, evokes the strongest emotions, can create identities and decide destinies. In sex, all aspects of existence merge in diverse and always individual ways. Sex is omnipresent as a topic, but still a big challenge for an illustration magazine.

In the current issue of SPRING 14 illustrators face this challenge. In their comics, illustrations and texts, they portray the evolutionary history of sexuality, share personal experiences of puberty, tell us about everyday sexism, ask what the absence of physicality actually does to us, and engage with female identities across generations. Entertaining and open, they visually stroll through the theme, telling us about digital vulvas, the blending of painting and the Japanese celebration of love.

SPRING was founded in 2004 in Hamburg. Since then, every summer a new volume of the anthology is published, which combines the different works from the fields of comics, illustration and free drawing into one topic each. Since the beginning, the group consists exclusively of women and has become a solid and important network for female illustrators in Germany.

Publisher
Illustrator

Aisha Franz, marialuisa

Release

September 2019

Format in cm (w × h × d)

20 × 24 cm

Volume

256 pages

Language

English, German

ISBN

978-3-938539-54-5

SPRING #16 – Sex

Veröffentlichung: September 2019
Umfang: 256 Seiten
Format: 20 × 24 cm
Preis: 24,00 

Wie illustriert man etwas, das für uns alle äußerst privat, intim und einzigartig ist? Sex ist dem Menschen von Natur aus eingeschrieben – und doch kulturell eines der am stärksten bearbeiteten Themen des Lebens. Er verbindet und trennt uns, ruft die heftigen Emotionen hervor, kann Identitäten schaffen und Schicksale entscheiden. Im Sex verschmelzen alles Aspekte des Daseins auf vielfältige und immer individuelle Weise. Sex ist als Thema allgegenwärtig, aber für ein Illustrationsmagazin dennoch eine große Herausforderung.

In der aktuellen Ausgabe von SPRING stellen 14 Zeichnerinnen dieser Herausforderung. In ihren Comics, Illustrationen und Texten schildern sie die Evolutionsgeschichte der Sexualität, lassen uns an persönlichen Erlebnissen aus der Pubertät teilhaben, berichten von alltäglichen Sexismus, fragen, was eigentlich die Abwesenheit von Körperlichkeit mit uns macht, und setzen sich generationenübergreifend mit weiblicher Identität auseinander. Unterhaltsam und offen flanieren sie visuell durchs Thema, erzählen uns von digitalen Vulven, von der Verschmelzung in der Malerei und vom japanischen Fest der Liebe.

Verlag

mairisch Verlag

Illustrator

Aisha Franz, Catherine Serles, marialuisa, Birgit Weyhe, Carolin Löbbert, Doris Freigofas, Jul Gordon, Katharina Gschwendtner, Katrin Stangl, Larissa Bertonasco, moki, Nadine Redlich, Stephanie Wunderlich

Veröffentlichung

September 2019

Format in cm (b × h × t)

20 × 24 cm

Umfang

256 Seiten

Sprache

Englisch, Deutsch

ISBN

978-3-938539-54-5