Typodarium 2020 / Preorder

Release: September 2019
Volume: 384 pages in 12 colors
Format: 8.5 × 12 cm
Price: 19,80 

Brexit and Trump’s Wall—it seems that borders around the world are currently being closed rather than permeable. It’s a good thing that more and more font families are mediating between languages and cultures at the same time, so you can use one font for multiple font systems.

The Typodarium 2020 therefore shows the latest font trends, the “weirdest” display types, the latest bread fonts and other proofs of the vital type community as well as a bi-script font family every Sunday. A writing system for diplomacy and tolerance. A writing system that brings down the walls in concrete heads and tears down political or military boundaries.

There are differences between Arabic and Hebrew, Japanese and Latin, but visually there are also many similarities. Communication overcomes borders. Communication needs writing. Type designers react to the wishes of their customers. And these customers from business and society think more globally and further than some headlines might suggest. The Sundays of the Typodarium 2020 define the silver lining on the time horizon: We are one world!

The front pages of the typodarium turn it into a calendar, the back pages, on the other hand, are a current font sample book camouflaged as a calendar. If you like a font very much, but you don’t see any possibility to use it at the moment, you might want to keep the font cheat sheet. Because that’s the way many people do it, we have packed the typodarium in a solid collection box. In the course of the year you will collect your typo inspiration here, always ready for use, because of course the font designer and source are on the back as well as a sample alphabet and information about the degree of development of the font.

 

Publisher

Verlag Hermann Schmidt

Author
Release

September 2019

Format in cm (w × h × d)

8,5 × 12 cm

Volume

384 pages in 12 colors

Workmanship

Packaged in a solid collection box

Language

English

EAN

4260172810784

Typodarium 2020

Umfang: 384 Tagesblätter in 12 Farben
Preis: 19,80 

Brexit und die Trump’sche Mauer – es scheint, als würden weltweit Grenzen derzeit eher dicht gemacht als durchlässig. Gut, dass gleichzeitig immer mehr Fontfamilien zwischen den Sprachen und Kulturen vermitteln, so dass Sie einen Font für mehrere Schrift-Systeme anwenden können.

Das Typodarium 2020 zeigt deshalb neben den aktuellsten Schrift-Trends, den »abgefahrensten« Displaytypen, neuesten Brotschriften und anderen Leistungsbeweisen der vitalen Type-Community jeden Sonntag eine Bi-scriptuale Schriftfamilie. Ein Schriftsystem für Diplomatie und Toleranz. Ein Schriftsystem, das die Mauern in Betonköpfen zu Fall bringt und politische oder militärische Grenzen einreißt.

Zwischen arabisch und hebräisch, japanisch und Latein liegen Unterschiede, aber visuell auch viele Gemeinsamkeiten. Kommunikation überwindet Grenzen. Kommunikation braucht Schrift. Schriftentwerfer reagieren auf die Wünsche ihrer Kunden. Und diese Kunden aus Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft denken globaler und weiter als die eine oder andere Schlagzeile vermuten lässt. Die Sonntage des Typodariums 2020 definieren den Silberstreif am Zeithorizont: We are one world!

Die Vorderseiten des Typodariums machen es zum Kalender, die Rückseiten hingegen sind ein als Kalender »getarntes« aktuelles Schriftmusterbuch. Wenn Ihnen eine Schrift besonders gut gefällt, Sie aber im Moment noch keine Einsatzmöglichkeit dafür sehen, wollen Sie den Schrift-Spickzettel vielleicht aufheben. Weil das vielen so geht, haben wir das Typodarium in eine solide Sammelbox verpackt. Im Laufe des Jahres sammeln Sie hier Ihre Typo-Inspiration, stets einsatzbereit, denn natürlich stehen Schriftentwerfer+in und Bezugsquelle ebenso auf der Rückseite wie ein Musteralphabet und Informationen zum Ausbaugrad der Schrift.

Umfang

384 Tagesblätter in 12 Farben

Sprache

Englisch

EAN

4260172810784