Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_Overview

The Monocle Travel Guide Series

Mexico City / Zürich, Geneva + Basel / Athens / Helsinki / Hamburg

Author: Cara Kollmann

Founded in London in 2007, Monocle magazine is at home all over the world. Thanks to its network of international offices (London, New York, Toronto, Zurich, Istanbul, Tokyo, Singapore) and more than 30 correspondents worldwide, the team always delivers valuable first-hand information.

The Monocle Travel Guide Series is aimed at travellers who do not see themselves as tourists, but want to move around in a foreign city like locals. With an in-depth understanding of the dynamics of the metropolises, the Monocle team puts together the best insider addresses that are indispensable for a city trip off the beaten track. We’d like to introduce you to the latest travel guides:

The Monocle Travel Guide Series / Mexico City
Quesadillas sizzling on street corners outside cosy coffee shops; mariachi in sequined sombreros serenading late-night revellers; tower blocks casting long shadows over baroque churches and Aztec ruins studded with cacti. Mexico City simultaneously conforms to every stereotype and challenges every preconception with shameless self-assurance. We push past the colorful chaos and Frida Kahlo merchandise (although, naturally, we drop by her cobalt-blue home) to find the city’s tastiest tacos and the retailers breathing new life into classic crafts. We lead you to our favorite mural-splashed buildings and the best places in which to practise your salsa—ending up in a dimly lit mezcal bar or two for good measure. There’s never been a better time to visit the Mexican capital so dust off your dancing shoes and join the fiesta. Órale, amigos!

Monocle Travel Guide Series / Zürich, Geneva + Basel
In this guide we delve into three Swiss cities and uncover what makes them tick. We tour the spotless streets of Zürich, highlighting its distinguished commercial-gallery scene, glistening lake, inviting swimming spots and burgeoning set of top-notch restaurants and bars. Next, we head west to explore Geneva, with its luxury retailers, independent chocolatiers and curious collection of architecture. Finally, we finish with a jaunt around petite Basel and admire its robust offering of contemporary structures and world-class museums. The Monocle Travel Guide to Zürich, Geneva + Basel celebrates the richness of these three cities and dives beneath the surface to bring an unexpected mix of creativity, entrepreneurialism and design.

The Monocle Travel Guide Series / Athens
Think of Athens and the first things that spring to mind are ancient ruins and camera-toting crowds. But there’s much more to the Greek capital than temples and tourists. We’ve looked beyond the admittedly awe-inspiring Parthenon and explored the city’s modernist marvels. For now, though, strap up your sandals and allow us to introduce you to this chaotic but ever-so-charismatic city.

The Monocle Travel Guide Series / Helsinki
Helsinki is a tale of two cities. Arrive mid-winter and you’ll find a frosty wonderland of snow-caked streets, with the residents holed up in cosy cafés. Come in summer, when the sun refuses to set, and you’ll catch locals partying into the early hours and leaping gleefully into the Baltic Sea. Whatever the season, Helsinki’s streets, forests and islands are ripe for exploring. So pull on your snow boots—or your sandals—and join us for a tour of this confident and cultured city.

The Monocle Travel Guide Series / Hamburg
If Berlin is Germany’s clubbing capital then Hamburg is the dinner party that’s as raucous as it is refined—and the guests are a varied bunch too. Stroll around this port city and you’ll brush shoulders with local fishermen on the banks of the River Elbe, world-renowned gallerists hosting cutting-edge exhibitions, and independent retailers flaunting wares that are either “Made in Hamburg” or exotic. Pull up a chair and meet the lot of them.

The Monocle Travel Guide Series

Publisher: Gestalten 
Format: 14 × 22 cm
Volume: 148 pages
Workmanship: hardcover
Language: English

Mexico City
ISBN: 978-3-89955-949-1
Price: 18.– €
Buy 

Zürich, Geneva + Basel
ISBN: 978-3-89955-958-3
Price: 18.– €
Buy

Athens
ISBN: 978-3-89955-959-0
Price: 18.– €
Buy 

Helsinki
ISBN: 978-3-89955-960-6
Price: 18.– €
Buy

Hamburg
ISBN: 978-3-89955-970-5
Price: 18.– €
Buy 

Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_Overview

Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_04 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_MexicoCity_09 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_05 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_ZurichGenevaBasel_10 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_01 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_Athens_06 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_03 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_Helsinki_08 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_02 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_Hamburg_07

Monocle Travel Guides Overview

The Monocle Travel Guide Series

Mexico City / Zürich, Geneva + Basel / Athens / Helsinki / Hamburg

Autor: Cara Kollmann

Das in 2007 in London gegründete Magazin Monocle ist auf der ganzen Welt zu Hause. Dank seines Netzwerks aus internationalen Büros (London, New York, Toronto, Zürich, Istanbul, Tokio, Singapur) und seinen mehr als 30 Korrespondenten weltweit, liefert das Team stets wertvolle Information aus erster Hand.

The Monocle Travel Guide Series richtet sich an Reisende, die sich nicht als Touristen verstehen, sondern sich in einer fremden Stadt wie Einheimische bewegen wollen. Mit einem tiefgreifenden Verständnis für die Dynamiken der Metropolen, stellt das Monocle-Team die besten Insider-Adressen zusammen, die für einen Städtetrip jenseits der ausgetrampelten Pfade unerlässlich sind. Die neusten Reiseführer stellen wir euch nun kurz vor:

The Monocle Travel Guide Series / Mexico City
Quesadillas brutzeln an Straßenecken vor gemütlichen Cafés, Mariachi in paillettenbesetzten Sombreros, die Nachtschwärmer singen, Turmblöcke, die lange Schatten über barocke Kirchen und aztekische Ruinen werfen, die mit Kakteen übersät sind. Mexiko-Stadt entspricht gleichzeitig jedem Stereotyp und stellt jedes Vorurteil mit schamlosem Selbstbewusstsein in Frage. Wir streifen an dem bunten Chaos und den Frida-Kahlo-Artikeln vorbei (wobei wir natürlich an ihrem kobaltblauen Haus vorbeikommen), um die leckersten Tacos der Stadt zu finden und die Einzelhändler, die dem klassischen Handwerk neues Leben einhauchen. Wir führen euch zu den schönsten bemalten Gebäuden und den besten Orten um Salsa zu tanzen – und enden in der ein oder anderen schwach beleuchteten Mezcalbar. Es gab noch nie einen besseren Zeitpunkt, die mexikanische Hauptstadt zu besuchen, also staubt eure Tanzschuhe ab und nehmt an der Fiesta teil. Órale, amigos!

The Monocle Travel Guide Series / Zürich, Geneva + Basel
In diesem Leitfaden tauchen wir in drei Schweizer Städte ein und entdecken, was sie bewegt. Wir besichtigen die wunderschönen Gassen von Zürich und zeigen die vornehme Handelsgalerie-Szene, den glitzernden See, die einladenden Badestellen und das aufkeimende Angebot an erstklassigen Restaurants und Bars. Weiter geht es nach Westen, um Genf mit seinen Luxusläden, unabhängigen Chocolatiers und einer kuriosen Architektursammlung zu erkunden. Zum Schluss machen wir einen Ausflug durch das zierliche Basel und bewundern das große Angebot an zeitgenössischen Bauten und erstklassigen Museen. Der Monocle Travel Guide Zürich, Geneva + Basel feiert den Reichtum dieser drei Städte und taucht in eine unerwartete Mischung aus Kreativität, Unternehmergeist und Design ein.

The Monocle Travel Guide Series / Athens
Denkt man an Athen sind die ersten Dinge, die einem in den Sinn kommen, alte Ruinen und kameraschwingende Menschenmassen. Aber die griechische Hauptstadt hat viel mehr zu bieten als Tempel und Touristen. Wir haben über den zugegebenermaßen ehrfurchtgebietenden Parthenon hinausgeblickt und die modernistischen Wunder der Stadt erkundet. Also schnallt euch eure Sandalen an und erlaubt uns, euch diese chaotische, aber dennoch so charismatische Stadt vorzustellen.

The Monocle Travel Guide Series / Helsinki
Helsinki ist eine Geschichte von zwei Städten. Wenn man mitten im Winter hier ankommt, findet man ein frostiges Wunderland vor mit schneebedeckten Straßen, in dem sich die Bewohner in gemütlichen Cafés verstecken. Kommt man im Sommer, wenn die Sonne nicht untergeht, kann man Einheimische beobachten, die bis in die frühen Morgenstunden feiern und fröhlich in die Ostsee springen. Zu jeder Jahreszeit sind Helsinkis Straßen, Wälder und Inseln reif für Erkundungen. Zieht also eure Schneeschuhe — oder Sandalen — an und begebt euch mit uns auf eine Tour durch diese selbstbewusste und kulturreiche Stadt.

The Monocle Travel Guide Series / Hamburg
Wenn Berlin die Clubhauptstadt Deutschlands ist, dann ist Hamburg die ebenso laute wie feine Dinnerparty — und die Gäste sind auch ein abwechslungsreicher Haufen. Schlendert durch diese Hafenstadt und setzt euch Seite an Seite mit lokalen Fischern ans Elbufer, weltberühmten Galeristen mit hochkarätigen Ausstellungen und unabhängigen Einzelhändlern, die Waren anbieten, die entweder »Made in Hamburg« oder exotisch sind. Setzt euch dazu und trefft die vielen unterschiedlichen Persönlichkeiten Hamburgs!

The Monocle Travel Guide Series

Verlag: Gestalten 
Format: 14 × 22 cm
Umfang: 148 Seiten
Ausführung: Hardcover
Sprache: Englisch

Mexico City
ISBN: 978-3-89955-949-1
Preis: 18,– €
Kaufen 

Zürich, Geneva + Basel
ISBN: 978-3-89955-958-3
Preis: 18,– €
Kaufen 

Athens
ISBN: 978-3-89955-959-0
Preis: 18,– €
Kaufen 

Helsinki
ISBN: 978-3-89955-960-6
Preis: 18,– €
Kaufen 

Hamburg
ISBN: 978-3-89955-970-5
Preis: 18,– €
Kaufen 

Monocle Travel Guides Overview

Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_04 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_MexicoCity_09 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_05 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_ZurichGenevaBasel_10 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_01 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_Athens_06 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_03 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_Helsinki_08 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_02 Slanted_Blog_publication_Monocle-Travel-Guide_Hamburg_07