Designers’ Open 2019

Designers’ Open 2019

With the graphic conference POSITIONS

Author: Isabella Krüger

From October 25th–27th, 2019 Leipzig will once again be all about design, then the Designers’ Open at KONGRESSHALLE am Zoo Leipzig will open its doors and promise high-quality and sustainable product ideas with this year’s focus on DO! FUTURE MATTER, dazzling entertainment on Friday evening with the new DO / Blue Hour and surprising moments in fashion, product, industrial and graphic design.

Slanted is offering 3 × 2 tickets for the Designers’ Open. To take part in the lottery, please send an email with the subject “Designers’ Open 2019” to [email protected] until October 18th, 2019, 11 a.m. (UTC+1) and add your postal address for shipping. The winners will be drawn. Legal ways are excluded. By taking part you are accepting the privacy statement of Slanted. Good Luck.

Alongside selected exhibitors in the Graphic & Media sector, this year for the sixth time the graphics conference POSITIONS attracts graphic fans to the KONGRESSHALLE. On October 26th, graphic designers and studios as well as illustrators and artists from Germany, Switzerland and the Czech Republic will present their positions and current work, thus providing a comprehensive insight into the trends in the industry. The graphics conference is not only interesting for experts: Whether you are an experienced graphics professional or a young graphic designer looking for inspiration—POSITIONS is aimed at everyone who is interested in the latest developments in the graphics industry.

This year, POSITIONS will again be curated by Philipp Neumann. The graphic designer studied typography at the HGB Leipzig, has written about graphic design in magazines, books and blogs, holds lectures, organizes events and exhibitions and is a lecturer for typography at the GUC in Cairo. Together with Karen Laube, he runs the Leipzig project space and bookstore MZIN, which specializes in design and art publications.

These are the POSITIONS (selection)

The Zurich studio Offshore Studio from Switzerland will be there. Studio owners Isabel Seiffert and Christoph Miler focus their activities on “research-driven design and visual narratives.” With this in mind, they are involved in design education and critically publish articles on relevant topics of our time. The series “MIGRANT JOURNAL” deals with aspects of migration in a total of six issues.

Electric Uwe uses graphic art on the body to establish himself. The tattoo artist and illustrator describes his work as “normally selfish craftsmanship, a service for people.” He will talk about his work and about his contribution to the book “KARL FINKE: Buch No.3 – ein Vorlagealbum des Hamburger Tätowierers” (“KARL FINKE: Book No.3—a template album of the Hamburg tattoo artist”), which reports on the life of the once most famous tattoo artist of St. Pauli.

Prague is the home of Anymade, consisting of Petr Cabalka and Filip Nerad. The two designers have made a name for themselves in the areas of graphic design, illustration, animation, installation, web design, photography and book design with their very own position and are a permanent creative force in the areas of music, fashion, art and culture. Their clients include LUNCHMEAT FESTIVAL, HAUS DER KUNST BRNO, SIXPACK FRANCE, MOOGFEST and CZECHDESIGN.

Further POSITIONS topics as well as all information about registration can be found here. Admission to the POSITIONS graphics conference is free, participants only need an admission ticket to the Designers’ Open 2019. However, as places are limited, please register.

When?
Oktober 25th–27th, 2019
Friday from  12 pm to 6 pm, Saturday from 10 am to 7 pm and Sunday 10 am to 6 pm

Where?
Kongresshalle am Zoo Leipzig
Pfaffendorfer Str. 31
04105 Leipzig 

Designers’ Open 2019

DOL18_TS_1173_1 DOL18_TS_1399 DOL18_TS_1595 DOL18_TS_0089 collagePOSITIONS2019

Designers’ Open 2019

Designers’ Open 2019

Mit der Grafikkonferenz POSITIONS

Autor: Isabella Krüger

Vom 25. bis 27. Oktober 2019 steht Leipzig wieder im Zeichen des Designs, dann öffnen die Designers’ Open in der KONGRESSHALLE am Zoo Leipzig und versprechen hochwertige und nachhaltige Produktideen mit dem diesjährigen Themenschwerpunkt DO! FUTURE MATTER, schillernde Freitagabendunterhaltung mit der neuen DO / Blue Hour sowie überraschende Momente im Mode-, Produkt-, Industrie- und auch Grafikdesign.

Slanted verlost 3 × 2 Tickets für die Designers’ Open! Um an der Verlosung teilzunehmen, schreibt eine Mail mit dem Betreff »Designers’ Open 2019« und Angabe eurer vollständigen Postadresse (für den Versand) an [email protected]. Mit eurer Teilnahme erklärt ihr euch mit der Datenschutzerklärung von Slanted einverstanden. Die Verlosung endet am Donnerstag, den 18.10.2019 um 11 Uhr. Wer an der Verlosung teilnimmt, erklärt sich damit einverstanden, News von Slanted zu erhalten. Der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen. Viel Glück!

Neben ausgewählten Ausstellern im Bereich Graphic & Media lockt in diesem Jahr bereits zum sechsten Mal die Grafikkonferenz POSITIONS Grafikfans in die KONGRESSHALLE. Am 26. Oktober stellen Grafikdesigner und -studios sowie Illustratoren und Künstler aus Deutschland, der Schweiz und Tschechien ihre Positionen und aktuellen Arbeiten vor und geben somit einen umfassenden Einblick in die Trends der Branche. Interessant ist die Grafikkonferenz dabei nicht nur für Fachkenner: Egal ob fachlich versierter Grafikprofi oder junger Grafikneuling auf der Suche nach Inspiration – POSITIONS richtet sich an alle, die an den aktuellen Entwicklungen der Grafikbranche interessiert sind.

Kuratiert wird POSITIONS auch in diesem Jahr durch Philipp Neumann. Der Grafikdesigner studierte an der HGB Leipzig im Fachbereich Typografie, schreibt zum Thema Grafikdesign in Magazinen, Büchern und Blogs, hält Vorträge, organisiert Veranstaltungen und Ausstellungen und ist Dozent für Typografie an der GUC in Kairo. Zusammen mit Karen Laube betreibt er den auf Publikationen aus Design und Kunst spezialisierten Leipziger Projektraum und Buchladen MZIN.

Das sind die POSITIONEN (Auswahl)

Mit dabei ist aus der Schweiz das Züricher Studio Offshore Studio. Studiobetreiber Isabel Seiffert und Christoph Miler fokussieren ihre Tätigkeit auf »research-driven design and visual narratives«. Sie engagieren sich mit diesem Schwerpunkt in der Design-Ausbildung und publizieren kritisch zu relevanten Themen unserer Zeit. So beschäftigt sich die Serie MIGRANT JOURNAL, in insgesamt sechs Ausgaben, mit Aspekten der Migration.

Zu Grafikkunst am Körper positioniert sich Electric Uwe. Der Tattoo-Artist und Illustrator beschreibt sein Tun als »im Normalfall egoistisches Kunsthandwerk, als Dienstleistung für den Menschen.« Sprechen wird er über seine Arbeit und über sein Mitwirken an dem Buch »KARL FINKE: Buch No. 3 – ein Vorlagealbum des Hamburger Tätowierers«, das vom Leben des einst berühmtesten Tätowierers von St. Pauli berichtet.

Aus Prag reisen Anymade an, bestehend aus Petr Cabalka und Filip Nerad. Die beiden Gestalter haben sich in den Bereichen Grafikdesign, Illustration, Animation, Installation, Webdesign, Fotografie und Buchgestaltung mit ihrer ganz eigenen Position einen Namen gemacht und sind im Bereich Musik, Mode, Kunst und Kultur eine feste, gestalterische Größe. Zu ihren Auftraggebern zählen u. a. LUNCHMEAT FESTIVAL, HAUS DER KUNST BRNO, SIXPACK FRANCE, MOOGFEST und CZECHDESIGN.

Weitere POSITIONS Themen sowie alle Infos zur Anmeldung gibt es hier. Der Eintritt zur Grafikkonferenz POSITIONS ist frei, Teilnehmer benötigen lediglich eine Eintrittskarte zu den Designers’ Open 2019. Da die Plätze jedoch begrenzt sind, wird um Anmeldung gebeten.

Wann?
25. bis 27. Oktober 2019
Freitag von 12 bis 21 UhrSamstag von 10 bis 19 Uhr und Sonntag von 10 bis 18 Uhr

Wo?
Kongresshalle am Zoo Leipzig
Pfaffendorfer Str. 31
04105 Leipzig 

Designers’ Open 2019

DOL18_TS_1173_1 DOL18_TS_1399 DOL18_TS_1595 DOL18_TS_0089 collagePOSITIONS2019