Slanted Special Issue – Rwanda

Release: August 2019
Volume: 128 pages
Format: 16 × 24 cm
Price: 12,00 

Many asked us: Why the hell did you go to Rwanda and how did you even get the idea? To answer these questions, a little segue into the past is necessary. Way back in 2012 Lars Harmsen was sitting in the jury of the Design Award Rhineland-Palatinate, awarded by the descom Design forum Rhineland-Palatinate. In 2018 Julia Kahl has been invited to be part of the jury and it was there that she found out about the project to showcase Rhineland-Palatinatean design in Rwanda–and the other way around. To this end, descom has conceived an exhibition that has been implemented in cooperation with the Partnership Association Rhineland-Palatinate/Rwanda (Jumelage) in Kigali and showed projects from both countries.

This project has gained our attention and we wanted to take a look at the up-and-coming creative scene in Rwanda ourselves. But the country also impressed us in other ways: Plastic bags? They are absolutely forbidden there since 2004. Environmental management is being decentralized from the political to the local level, leading to a widespread understanding on how to preserve the environment. On the last Saturday of the month, for example, every citizen is obliged to tidy up the streets. Since this year, no more old clothes from the West may be imported to Rwanda—this could create around 25,000 new jobs and the textile industry is flourishing.

To see a developing country implement and carry out such legislations is ground-breaking. It goes to show; anything can be possible if the political will really exists and true efforts are made. So, we have to say it again: Rwanda showed us how it’s done!

It’s now our honor to present a few outstanding personalities as well as many good stories besides some “design eye-candy” in this Slanted special issue.

Participants: Maggie Andresen, Timothy Wandulu / Concept Arts Studio, Mihir Bhatt / Creative Communications Rwanda, Abdi Latif Dahir, Carolin Dürrenberg und Silke Philipps-Deters / descom – Designforum Rheinland-Pfalz, Pierra Ntayombya / Haute Baso, Katharina Hey, Matthew Rugamba / House of Tayo, Innocent Nkurunziza / Inema Arts Center, Umuhire MweneMuntu Isaac, Judith Kaine / Kurema Kureba Kwiga, Jacques Nkinzingabo / Kigali Center for Photography, Niyunkuru Canda & Manzi Jackson / Kuuru Art Space, Moses Turahirwa / Moshions, Lynn Harles, Michael Nieden / Partnerschaftsverein Rheinland-Pfalz – Ruanda, Nelson Niyakire, Guillaume Sardin, Chris Schwagga, Daniel Sommer, The Economist

Supported by descom Designforum Rhineland-Palatinate and the Partnership Association Rhineland-Palatinate / Rwanda (Jumelage).

Publisher

Slanted Publishers

Photographer

Daniel Sommer

Release

August 2019

Format in cm (w × h × d)

16 × 24 cm

Volume

128 pages

Slanted Special Issue – Rwanda

Veröffentlichung: August 2019
Umfang: 128 Seiten
Format: 16 × 24 cm
Preis: 12,00 

Viele fragten uns: Warum zum Teufel seid ihr nach Ruanda gegangen und wie seid ihr überhaupt auf die Idee gekommen? Um diese Fragen zu beantworten, ist ein kleiner Rückblick in die Vergangenheit notwendig. Bereits 2012 war Lars Harmsen in der Jury des von descom – Designforum Rheinland-Pfalz verliehenen Designpreises Rheinland-Pfalz vertreten. Im Jahr 2018 wurde Julia Kahl als Mitglied der Jury eingeladen und dort erfuhr sie von dem Projekt, das rheinland-pfälzisches Design in Ruanda präsentieren soll – und umgekehrt. Zu diesem Zweck hat descom eine Ausstellung konzipiert, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Partnerschaftsverein Rheinland-Pfalz/Ruanda in Kigali realisiert wurde und Projekte aus beiden Ländern zeigte.

Dieses Projekt hat unsere Aufmerksamkeit erregt und wir wollten selbst einen Blick auf die aufstrebende Kreativszene in Ruanda werfen. Aber das Land hat uns auch auf andere Weise beeindruckt: Plastiktüten? Sie sind dort seit 2004 absolut verboten. Das Umweltmanagement wird von der politischen auf die lokale Ebene dezentralisiert, was zu einem breiten Verständnis darüber führt, wie die Umwelt erhalten werden kann. So ist beispielsweise am letzten Samstag im Monat jeder Bürger verpflichtet, die Straßen sauber zu machen. Seit diesem Jahr dürfen keine Altkleider aus dem Westen mehr nach Ruanda importiert werden – das konnte rund 25.000 neue Arbeitsplätze schaffen und die Textilindustrie floriert. Ruanda hat uns gezeigt, wie man es richtig macht!

Es ist uns nun eine Ehre, in dieser Sonderausgabe ein paar herausragende Persönlichkeiten sowie viele gute Geschichten neben einigen »Design-Augenweiden« zu präsentieren.

Teilnehmer: Maggie Andresen, Timothy Wandulu / Concept Arts Studio, Mihir Bhatt / Creative Communications Rwanda, Abdi Latif Dahir, Carolin Dürrenberg und Silke Philipps-Deters / descom – Designforum Rheinland-Pfalz, Pierra Ntayombya / Haute Baso, Katharina Hey, Matthew Rugamba / House of Tayo, Innocent Nkurunziza / Inema Arts Center, Umuhire MweneMuntu Isaac, Judith Kaine / Kurema Kureba Kwiga, Jacques Nkinzingabo / Kigali Center for Photography, Niyunkuru Canda & Manzi Jackson / Kuuru Art Space, Moses Turahirwa / Moshions, Lynn Harles, Michael Nieden / Partnerschaftsverein Rheinland-Pfalz – Ruanda, Nelson Niyakire, Guillaume Sardin, Chris Schwagga, Daniel Sommer, The Economist

Unterstützt von descom – Designforum Rheinland-Pfalz und dem Partnerschaftsverein Rheinland-Pfalz / Ruanda (Jumelage).

Verlag

Slanted Publishers

Fotograf

Daniel Sommer

Veröffentlichung

August 2019

Format in cm (b × h × t)

16 × 24 cm

Umfang

128 Seiten