Rutu Modan Interview

Comic-Festival in Angoulême

Author: Heinrich Raatschen

When the Angoulême International Comics Festival opens on January 24th, 200,000 visitors will crowd the streets of this small town in the west of France, and publishers of comic books from many countries will set up their stands. Among the numerous exhibitions will be the first comprehensive retrospective of the Israeli comic author Rutu Modan.

She became famous with her graphic novels »Exit Wounds« (168 pages) and »The Property« (232 pages), both originally published by the Canadian publishing house Drawn & Quarterly. Together with artists Yirmi Pinkus, Itzik Rennert, Batia Kolton and Mira Friedmann, Rutu founded the self-publishing group Actus Tragicus in 1995. Today she is a professor at the Bezalel Academy of Art and Design in Jerusalem.

We met her in a café on the beach of Tel Aviv.

How important was international exchange for your development?

Rutu Modan: In the early 90s we met Henning Wagenbreth, Atak (Georg Barber) and Anke Feuchtenberger in Berlin. Yirmi Pinkus stayed in Berlin for a few months and established the relationship. Their self-published little books were an inspiration for us to do the same. If they can do that, we thought, we can do it in Israel. There weren’t many comics in Israel back then. Not even commercial comic books were common, not even for children.

In the past, retrospectives were made for dead masters.

It’s a big deal for me to have a retrospective in Angoulême. On our first visit in 1996, I had a culture shock. All the artists, publishers, visitors. Then we went with Actus Tragicus every year to find publishers and distributors. In Angoulême we met Drawn & Quarterly in 1998. That opened the American market for us. We would not have made it without Angoulême. In Angoulême we understood what we could do and how we could do it. I tell my students how important it is to understand the industry. You don’t have to obey. You still do your own work, but you learn how to carry it into the world. That is what Angoulême showed us.

Are you involved in the exhibition design for Angoulême?

Thomas Gabison, from Actes Sud, my French publisher, curates the exhibition. I’m curious to see what he will do with the material I brought him to Paris. It’s a challenging task. It’s not natural for comics to hang on a wall. It’s impossible to choose a page that represents the whole book. But it can succeed. I saw a very good comics exhibition about Hergé at the Centre Pompidou, another from L’Association in Angoulême. Thomas will choose themes that will guide the exhibition so that you won’t be overwhelmed by the amount of material.

You received the 3 × 3 Award as Educator of the Year in 2017?

I am a professor of illustration and comics at Bezalel Academy. I teach basic courses for grades 1-2, children’s book illustration and all final courses. Teaching professions are something that Israeli illustrators aspire to early in their careers. At least in our generation we had good opportunities to do this. Israeli society is new, Israelis love everything new.

Will you publish something in 2019?

I’m drawing a new book, with a really bad person and a tragic end. It’s kind of political. I’ll probably be working on it the whole year of 2019.

Exposition Rutu Modan – Un théâtre tragi-comique
46th International Comics Festival
Angoulême, January 24th–27th, 2019

Sources: The Property, Exit Wounds, Jamilti and Other Stories, The New Yorker

Rutu Modan Interview

Comic-Festival in Angoulême

Autor: Heinrich Raatschen

Wenn am 24. Januar das Internationale Comic-Festival in Angoulême eröffnet, werden sich 200.000 Besucher durch die Straßen der westfranzösischen Kleinstadt drängen, Comic- und Buch-Verlage aus vielen Ländern werden ihre Stände aufbauen, und unter den zahlreichen Ausstellungen wird die erste umfassende Retrospektive der israelischen Comic-Autorin Rutu Modan sein.

Bekannt wurde sie mit ihren Graphic Novels »Exit Wounds« (168 Seiten, in Deutsch »Blutspuren«) und »The Property« (232 Seiten, in Deutsch »Das Erbe«), beide ursprünglich vom kanadischen Verlagshaus Drawn & Quarterly verlegt. Rutu hat zusammen mit Yirmi Pinkus, Itzik Rennert, Batia Kolton und Mira Friedmann 1995 die Zeichner-Gruppe Actus Tragicus gegründet. Heute ist sie Professorin an der Bezalel Academy of Art and Design in Jerusalem.

Wir trafen sie in einem Café am Strand von Tel Aviv.

Wie wichtig war internationaler Austausch für eure Entwicklung?

Rutu Modan: Anfang der 90er Jahre haben wir in Berlin Henning Wagenbreth, Atak (Georg Barber) und Anke Feuchtenberger kennengelernt. Yirmi Pinkus war für einige Monate in Berlin und hat die Beziehung hergestellt. Ihre selbstveröffentlichten kleinen Bücher waren für uns eine Inspiration, dasselbe zu tun. Wenn sie das tun können, haben wir gedacht, können wir das auch in Israel. Es gab damals nicht viele Comics in Israel. Nicht einmal kommerzielle Cartoons waren verbreitet, auch nicht für Kinder.

Früher wurden Retrospektiven für gestorbene Meister gemacht.

Es ist eine große Sache für mich, eine Retrospektive in Angoulême zu haben. Bei unserem ersten Besuch 1996 hatte ich einen Kulturschock. All die Künstler, Verleger, Besucher. Dann sind wir mit Actus Tragicus jedes Jahr hingefahren, um Verlage und Vertriebe zu finden. In Angoulême haben wir 1998 Drawn & Quarterly getroffen. Das hat uns den amerikanischen Markt geöffnet. Ohne Angoulême hätten wir es nicht geschafft. In Angoulême haben wir verstanden, was wir tun können und wie wir es tun. Ich sage meinen Studenten, wie wichtig es ist, die Branche zu verstehen. Du musst nicht gehorchen. Du machst immer noch deine eigene Arbeit, aber du lernst, wie man sie in die Welt trägt. Das hat uns Angoulême gezeigt.

Bist du am Ausstellungs-Design für Angoulême beteiligt?

Thomas Gabison, von Actes Sud, meinem französischen Verlag, kuratiert die Ausstellung. Ich bin gespannt, was er mit dem Material machen wird, das ich ihm nach Paris gebracht habe. Es ist eine anspruchsvolle Aufgabe. Es ist nicht natürlich, dass Comics an einer Wand hängen. Es ist unmöglich, eine Seite zu wählen, die das ganze Buch repräsentiert. Aber es kann gelingen. Ich habe eine sehr gute Comic-Ausstellung über Hergé im Centre Pompidou gesehen, ein andere von L’Association in Angoulême. Thomas wird Themen auswählen, die die Ausstellung leiten, damit man nicht von der Menge des Materials überwältigt wird.

Du hast 2017 den 3 x 3 Award als Educator of the Year erhalten?

Ich bin Professorin für Illustration und Comics an der Bezalel Academy. Ich unterrichte Grundlagenkurse für die Jahrgänge 1-2, Kinderbuchillustration und alle Abschlusskurse. Lehrberufe sind etwas, das israelische Illustratoren schon früh in ihrer Karriere anstreben. Jedenfalls in unserer Generation hatten wir gute Möglichkeiten, dies zu tun. Die israelische Gesellschaft ist neu, Israelis lieben alles Neue.

Wirst du 2019 etwas publizieren?

Ich zeichne gerade ein neues Buch, mit einem wirklich schlechten Menschen und einem tragischen Ende. Es ist irgendwie politisch. Ich arbeite wahrscheinlich noch das ganze Jahr 2019 daran.

Exposition Rutu Modan – Un théâtre tragi-comique
46e Festival International de la Bande Dessinée
Angoulême, 24.–27. Januar 2019

Illustrationen aus: The Property, Exit Wounds, Jamilti and Other Stories, The New Yorker