The World’s Writing Systems

Author: Isabella Krüger

When we first heard about decodeunicode, our typo hearts jumped a little higher—what a great idea to capture all the characters in the world in Unicode. Now Prof. Johannes Bergerhausen together with the Institut Designlabor Gutenberg (IDG), the Atelier National de Recherche Typographique, and the Script Encoding Initiative of the University of California has initiated the new project worldswritingsystems.org, which gives an overview of the 292 writing systems of the world! These writing systems can be sorted chronologically, alphabetically and geographically. You can also discover which writing systems are alive or extinct and how many have been included in the Unicode standard.

We asked Prof. Johannes Bergerhausen a few questions about the project:

How did this project come about?

At www.decodeunicode.org you can see all the Unicode characters, currently there are 137,374 characters. Every year new characters are added; meanwhile Unicode 12.0 covers 150 font systems. At some point the question arose: how many are still missing? That’s what I asked the linguist Dr. Deborah Anderson from Berkeley. After months of research, she presented a long list of 142 scripts that are not yet available on the computer. Then I was visiting professor at the ANRT in Nancy and suggested the joint project “Missing Scripts” to the director Thomas Huot-Marchand. For each font we researched a typical character and designed it in a characteristic style.

How can you imagine researching centuries-old systems? Where do you start searching?

In the relevant literature there are almost always experts somewhere in the world, mostly linguists or paleographers, who have been dealing with their obscure writing system for years. Often they are scripts that do not yet have a fixed typographic canon of forms. That’s what makes it so interesting. In the post master at the ANRT in Nancy, students can spend 18 months researching and designing one of these writing systems.

Which writing system do you particularly like and why?

Oh, there are many of them. I find the African scripts very interesting. Here it is often very difficult to find an expert. The writing system Bamum, for example, is very fresh and lively.

Thank you very much.

For the project, a typical character was researched and a glyph designed for each of the 292 writing systems during an 18-month post-master period. A four-color screen print now presents all glyphs on a poster.

The World’s Writing Systems Poster
Release: 2018
Edition: 600 copies
Format: 80 × 120 cm
Workmanship: 4-color screen printing
Print: Lézard Graphique, Brumath, France, 2018

Price: 22,– €
The poster is available here

Data: Dr. Deborah Anderson, Berkeley, USA
Type design: Johannes Bergerhausen, Arthur Francietta, Jérôme Knebusch, Morgane Pierson; ANRT, Nancy, France, 2016—2018
Design: Ilka Helmig, Johannes Bergerhausen, helmigbergerhausen.de, Cologne, 2018
Design/Coding/UX: wysiwyg*, Düsseldorf, 2018

WWS Screen 2 WWS Screen 3 WWS Screen 4 WWS Screen 5 Bildschirmfoto 2019-06-25 um 14.37.25 Bildschirmfoto 2019-06-25 um 14.43.48 0-2-1

The World’s Writing Systems

Autor: Isabella Krüger

Als wir das erste Mal von decodeunicode hörten, sprangen unsere Typo-Herzen ein bisschen höher – was für eine tolle Idee, alle Zeichen der Welt in Unicode zu erfassen. Nun hat Prof. Johannes Bergerhausen gemeinsam mit dem Institut Designlabor Gutenberg (IDG), dem Atelier National de Recherche Typographique und der Script Encoding Initiative der University of California das neue Projekt worldswritingsystems.org initiiert, welches einen Überblick über die 292 Schriftsysteme der Welt gibt! Diese Schriftsysteme können chronologisch, alphabetisch und geografisch sortiert werden. Zudem kann man entdecken, welche Schriftsysteme lebend bzw. ausgestorben sind und wie viele bisher in den Unicode-Standard aufgenommen wurden.

Wir haben Prof. Johannes Bergerhausen ein paar Fragen zum Projekt gestellt:

Wie kam es zu diesem Projekt?

Bei www.decodeunicode.org kann man alle Schriftzeichen sehen, die in Unicode aufgenommen wurden, aktuell finden sich dort 137.374 Zeichen. Jedes Jahr kommen neue dazu; inzwischen deckt Unicode 12.0 immerhin 150 Schriftsysteme ab. Irgendwann kam dann die Frage auf: wieviele fehlen eigentlich noch? Das habe ich die Linguistin Dr. Deborah Anderson aus Berkeley gefragt. Sie hat ihre weltweite wissenschaftliche Community konsultiert und präsentierte nach monatelanger Recherche eine lange Liste mit 142 Scripts, die noch nicht auf dem Computer verfügbar sind. Dann war ich visiting professor im Post-Master am ANRT in Nancy und habe dem Direktor Thomas Huot-Marchand das gemeinsame Projekt »Missing Scripts« vorgeschlagen. Zu jedem Schriftsystem haben wir ein typisches Zeichen recherchieren und in einem Duktus entworfen.

Wie kann man sich die Recherche zu Jahrhunderte alten Systemen vorstellen? Wo fängt man an zu suchen?

In der einschlägigen Literatur findet sich fast immer irgendwo auf der Welt Experten, meist Linguisten oder Paläografen, die sich seit Jahren mit ihrem obskuren Schriftsystem beschäftigen. Oft sind es Scripts, die noch keinen festen typografischen Formenkanon haben. Das macht es gerade so interessant. Im Post-Master am ANRT in Nancy kann man sich als Student/in 18 Monate mit der Recherche und dem Entwurf von einem dieser Schriftsysteme beschäftigen.

Welches Schriftsystem gefällt dir besonders gut und weshalb?

Ach, da gibt es viele. Sehr interessant finde ich u. a. die afrikanischen Scripts. Hier ist es oft sehr schwer eine/n Experten/in zu finden. Sehr frisch und lebendig ist z. B. das Schriftsystem Bamum.

Vielen Dank!

Für das Projekt wurde im Rahmen eines 18-monatigen Post-Masters zu jedem der 292 Schriftsysteme ein typisches Zeichen recherchiert und dazu eine Glyphe entworfen. Ein vierfarbiger Siebdruck präsentiert nun alle Glyphen auf einem Plakat.

The World’s Writing Systems Poster

Veröffentlichung: 2018
Auflage: 600 Exemplare
Format: 80 × 120 cm
Ausführung: 4-farbiger Siebdruck
Druck: Lézard Graphique, Brumath, Frankreich, 2018

Preis: 22,– €

Das Poster ist hier erhältlich.

Daten: Dr. Deborah Anderson, Berkeley, USA
Type-Design: Johannes Bergerhausen, Arthur Francietta, Jérôme Knebusch, Morgane Pierson; ANRT, Nancy, Frankreich, 2016—2018
Design: Ilka Helmig, Johannes Bergerhausen, helmigbergerhausen.de, Köln, 2018
Design/Coding/UX: wysiwyg*, Düsseldorf, 2018

 

WWS Screen 3 WWS Screen 5 WWS Screen 4 WWS Screen 2 Bildschirmfoto 2019-06-25 um 14.37.25 Bildschirmfoto 2019-06-25 um 14.43.48 0-2-1