Interview with Amit Trainin

Illustration in Tel Aviv

Author: Heinrich Raatschen

In this series with illustrators from Tel Aviv we introduce you to the most exciting Israeli creative minds in graphic design, animation and illustration. We started with interviews with Rutu Modan and Itamar Daube. More will follow.

Amit Trainin writes on his portfolio website: “I am an Israeli illustrator who has drawn people, trees, frogs, cities and endless other odds and ends.” And it’s true that some of his eight children’s books so far are about people and frogs. But his last children’s book describes the adventures of a turtle—“Tot the Tortoise in Emek Refaim,” with text by Dafna Ben-Zvi. Amit also illustrates for leading Israeli newspapers such as Yedioth Ahronoth, Maariv and Haaretz as well as for international magazines such as New York Magazine. He frequently participates in exhibitions and workshop projects, most recently in the cooperation project Art BnB in Jerusalem. From 2005–2016, Amit taught illustration at the Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design, Jerusalem, where he graduated, and from 2006–2016 was Head of Visual Communication at Minshar Art School, Tel Aviv.

What was the last cooperation project you participated in?

Art BnB was a ten day project organized by the municipality of Jerusalem in December 2018. For the Jerusalem project we created outdoor artworks on window panes. It was about stories that correspond to the seasons. Israeli, German, American, Portuguese and Polish artists took part. We lived together in a huge facility, like a Big Brother apartment. Art BnB is part of Jerusalem’s efforts get a place in the art world.

Would you tell us something about the French Design Week at Bezalel Academy?

It is part of the Saison France Israel organized by the French Embassy, the Institut Français and the French ministry of culture with 120 events across Israel. At Bezalel Academy, I gave my illustration students a task. The students were asked to describe an imaginary visit to Paris in a diary. They worked on site for three days, resulting in travel books and an exhibition. Five French artists also gave workshops at Bezalel Academy during French Design Week.

For Tel Aviv Illustration Week in November 2018, you had a project in Jaffa?

That was a great experience. It was a project together with artists Itzik Rennert and Yana Bukler, each of us chose a theme from our families. Some stories evolved around family memories related to the Holocaust, others, like mine, evolved from the experience of their youth in a kibbutz. You know that children in a kibbutz are cared for in children’s houses, separately from their parents. As a child, you heard terrible sentences from the kibbutz educators. The audience could immediately identify with it, because many have experienced it themselves. The Tel Aviv Illustration Week is organized by the Tel Aviv municipality, but the artists come from all over Israel.

Tell us about the Negotiation Matters Workshop with the Goethe-Institut Tel Aviv.

It started in May 2018 with a four-day-workshop at the Universität der Künste in Berlin. I went with the students. We developed the themes of the historical negotiations to be presented in the exhibition. The idea is that negotiations may have changed the world more the armed conflicts, but history books and popular narrative tend to focus on the latter. It was organized by the Goethe-Institut Tel Aviv and the Institute for National Security Studies (INSS) in Israel.

Can you tell us something about the idea behind Negotiation Matters?

My poster presents the Good Friday Agreement that ended the long Northern Ireland conflict in 1998. I decided to portray both sides of the conflict dancing the famous Irish River Dance as a symbol of harmony, equality and peace. The poster was made in a linoleum-cut technique to honor the great tradition of this technique. As an Israeli, I can only hope that we will soon have our own “Good Friday Agreement” here as well.

More about Amit Trainin here.

Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-12 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-00 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-01 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-02 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-03 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-04 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-05 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-06 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-07 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-08 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-09 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-10 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-11 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-13 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-14 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-15 Slanted-Blog-Tel-Aviv-Amit-16

Amit Trainin im Interview

Illustration aus Tel Aviv

Autor: Heinrich Raatschen

In dieser Serie mit Illustratoren und Illustratorinnen aus Tel Aviv stellen wir euch die spannendsten israelischen Kreativen im Bereich Grafikdesign, Animation und Illustration vor. Der Start waren Interviews mit Rutu Modan und Itamar Daube. Weitere folgen.

Amit Trainin schreibt auf seiner Portfolio-Website: »Ich bin ein israelischer Illustrator, der Menschen, Bäume, Frösche, Städte und zahllose andere Kleinigkeiten zeichnet.« Und es stimmt, einige seiner bisher acht Kinderbücher handeln von Menschen und Fröschen. Aber sein letztes Kinderbuch beschreibt die Abenteuer einer Schildkröte – »Tot the Tortoise in Emek Refaim«, mit Text von Dafna Ben-Zvi. Amit illustriert auch für führende israelische Zeitungen wie Yedioth Ahronoth, Maariv und Haaretz sowie für internationale Zeitschriften wie das New York Magazine. Er nimmt häufig an Ausstellungen und Workshop-Projekten teil, zuletzt am Kooperationsprojekt Art BnB in Jerusalem. Von 2005–2016 war Amit Lehrer für Illustration an der Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design, Jerusalem, wo er seinen Abschluss machte, und 2006–2016 Leiter der Abteilung für visuelle Kommunikation an der Minshar Art School, Tel Aviv.

Welches war das letzte Gemeinschaftsprojekt, an dem du teilgenommen hast?

Art BnB war ein zehn tägiges Projekt, das von der Stadtverwaltung Jerusalem im Dezember 2018 organisiert wurde. Für das Jerusalemer Projekt haben wir Outdoor-Kunstwerke auf Fensterscheiben gemalt. Es ging um Geschichten, die den Jahreszeiten entsprechen. Es haben israelische, deutsche, amerikanische, portugiesische und polnische Künstler teilgenommen. Wir wohnten zusammen in einer riesigen Einrichtung, wie einer Big Brother Wohnung. Art BnB ist Teil der Bemühungen von Jerusalem, einen Platz in der Kunstwelt zu bekommen.

Würdest du uns etwas über die French Design Week an der Bezalel Academy erzählen?

Sie ist Teil der Saison France Israel, die von der französischen Botschaft, dem Institut Français und dem französischen Kulturministerium mit 120 Veranstaltungen in ganz Israel organisiert wird. An der Bezalel Academy habe ich meinen Illustrationsschülern eine Aufgabe gestellt. Die Studenten sollten in einem Tagebuch einen imaginären Besuch in Paris beschreiben. Sie arbeiteten drei Tage lang vor Ort, das Ergebnis waren Reisebücher und eine Ausstellung. Außerdem gaben fünf französische Künstler während der French Design Week Workshops an der Bezalel Academy.

Für die Tel Aviv Illustration Week im November 2018 hattest du ein Projekt in Jaffa?

Das war eine großartige Erfahrung. Es war ein Projekt zusammen mit den Künstlern Itzik Rennert und Yana Bukler – jeder von uns wählte ein Thema aus dem Bereich Familie. Einige Geschichten entwickelten sich rund um familiäre Erinnerungen im Zusammenhang mit dem Holocaust, andere, wie meine, entwickelten sich aus der Erfahrung einer Jugend im Kibbuz. Du weißt, dass Kinder in den Kibbutz-Kinderhäusern versorgt werden, getrennt von ihren Eltern. Als Kind hast du von den Kibbuz-Pädagogen zum Teil schreckliche Sätze gehört. Das Publikum konnte sich sofort damit identifizieren, weil viele es selbst erlebt haben. Die Tel Aviv Illustration Week wird von der Stadt Tel Aviv organisiert, aber die Künstler kommen aus ganz Israel.

Erzähl uns vom Negotiation Matters Workshop mit dem Goethe-Institut Tel Aviv.

Es begann im Mai 2018 mit einem viertägigen Workshop an der Universität der Künste in Berlin. Ich bin mit den Studenten hingefahren. Wir haben die Themen der politischen Verhandlungen entwickelt, die in der Ausstellung präsentiert werden sollten. Die Idee ist, dass Verhandlungen die Welt vielleicht mehr verändert haben als bewaffnete Konflikte, aber Geschichtsbücher und populäre Erzählungen konzentrieren sich tendenziell auf letztere. Organisiert wurde es vom Goethe-Institut Tel Aviv und dem Institute for National Security Studies (INSS) in Israel.

Kannst du uns etwas zur Idee hinter dem Projekt Negotiation Matters sagen?

Mein Poster stellt das »Karfreitagsabkommen« vor, mit dem der lange Nordirland-Konflikt 1998 beendet wurde. Ich habe mich entschieden, beide Seiten des Konflikts darzustellen und dafür den berühmten Irish River Dance als Symbol für Harmonie, Gleichheit und Frieden zu verwenden. Das Poster wurde in Linolschnitt erstellt, um die große Tradition dieser Technik zu würdigen. Als Israeli kann ich nur hoffen, dass wir bald auch hier ein eigenes »Karfreitagsabkommen« haben werden.

Mehr über Amit Trainin hier.