deValence—Systems as Playgrounds

Exhibition in Kyoto

Author: Eva Lotta Landskron

deValence is one of France’s most prolific contemporary graphic design studios. Established in Paris in 2001, deValence is headed by Alexandre Dimos and Ghislain Triboulet. The studio now operates mainly in the fields of contemporary creative arts, design, theatre, publishing and architecture. In parallel with its design work, deValence has always been involved in projects to promote thought on graphic design, particularly through the organization of conferences. This led to Alexandre Dimos’ creation in 2008 of the B42 publishing house. B42 produces books relating to the entire breadth of visual cultures, including design. In addition, the studio dedicates itself to providing analysis tools for exploring visual cultures and the role of the designer in society.

The studio’s superlative design creations have garnered high accolades from all quarters, all around the world. deValence’s clients include such major institutions as the Venice Biennale, the Centre Pompidou, La Commune theatre (centre dramatique national, Aubervilliers), the Maison&Objet international trade fair of interior design, and Harvard University, as well as some of France’s leading contemporary artists, including Pierre Huyghe, Raphaël Zarka and Saâdane Afif.

deValence’s projects seek to develop rigorous, effective and original visual systems requiring the active intellectual involvement of the viewer. Following in the footsteps of the Swiss and Dutch graphic design, deValence pays particular attention to typography and the process of shape forming.

This exhibition “deValence—Systems as Playground” at kyoto ddd gallery will be deValence’s first show in Japan. They hope visitors will take this opportunity to see and appreciate the many outstanding works demonstrating the significant contribution deValence has made to the renewal of contemporary graphic design. Discussions and conferences with Japanese graphic designers and curators will be held throughout the project.

deValence—Systems as Playground

When?
August 28th until October 23rd, 2019

Where?
kyoto ddd gallery
10 Uzumasakamikeibucho
Ukyo-ku
Kyoto, 616-8533
Japan

deValence – Systems as Playgrounds

Ausstellung in Kyoto

Autor: Eva Lotta Landskron

deValence ist eines der produktivsten zeitgenössischen Grafikdesignstudios Frankreichs. Das Studio wurde 2001 in Paris gegründet und wird von Alexandre Dimos und Ghislain Triboulet geleitet. Parallel zur gestalterischen Tätigkeit in den Bereichen der zeitgenössischen Kunst, des Designs, Theaters, Verlagswesens und der Architektur war deValence schon immer an Projekten zur Förderung des Dialogs um Grafikdesign beteiligt, insbesondere durch die Organisation von Konferenzen. Dies führte 2008 zur Gründung des B42-Verlages durch Alexandre Dimos. B42 produziert Bücher, die sich mit der gesamten Bandbreite der visuellen Kultur auseinandersetzen, einschließlich natürlich des Designs. Darüber hinaus widmet sich das Studio der Bereitstellung von Analysewerkzeugen zur Erforschung der visuellen Kulturen und der Rolle des Designs in der Gesellschaft.

Die hochkarätigen Designkreationen des Studios wurden weltweit hoch gelobt. Zu den Kunden von deValence gehören große Institutionen wie die Biennale von Venedig, das Centre Pompidou, La Commune Theater (Centre Dramatique National, Aubervilliers), die Internationale Fachmesse für Innenarchitektur Maison&Objet und die Harvard University sowie einige der führenden zeitgenössischen Künstler Frankreichs, darunter Pierre Huyghe, Raphaël Zarka und Saâdane Afif.

Die Projekte von deValence zielen darauf ab, konsequente, effektive und originelle visuelle Systeme zu entwickeln, die die aktive intellektuelle Beteiligung des Betrachters erfordern. Nach dem Vorbild des schweizerischen und niederländischen Grafikdesigns legt deValence besonderes Augenmerk auf die Typografie und den Prozess der Formgebung.

Diese Ausstellung »deValence – Systems as Playgrounds« in der kyoto ddd gallery ist die erste Ausstellung von deValence in Japan. Die Kuratoren haben die Hoffnung, dass die Besucher diese Gelegenheit nutzen werden, um die vielen herausragenden Werke zu sehen und zu schätzen, die den bedeutenden Beitrag von deValence zur Erneuerung des zeitgenössischen Grafikdesigns zeigen. Während des gesamten Projekts werden Diskussionen und Konferenzen mit japanischen Grafikern und Kuratoren stattfinden.

deValence – Systems as Playgrounds

Wann?
28. August bis 23. Oktober 2019

Wo?
kyoto ddd gallery
10 Uzumasakamikeibucho,
Ukyo-ku,
Kyoto, 616-8533
Japan