Hotel Josef

Slanted in Prag

Author: Julia Kahl

Exactly 50 years ago, the people of Prague took to the streets to fight for the reform efforts of the Communist Party to establish a democratic, socially just and modern state. Today, 50 years later, Prague is a city with a lot of history and sights, such as Prague Castle and Charles Bridge, which are almost swallowed up by tourist streams, but also an energetic metropolis that ticks at the pulse of time and has a lot to offer culturally.

Last week we were in Prague for the spring/summer issue of Slanted magazine to take a look at the design scene there and get to know the soul of the city. During our stay we were allowed to stay overnight in the design hotel Josef, which is located in a picturesque side street next to the old town and was designed by the renowned architect Eva Jiřičná.

Skilful light staging and sensitive use of materials characterise the consistent and straightforward style of the whole house. A highlight from the pen Jiřičnás are the bathrooms, which either consistently open out of glass towards the bedroom or are clad in stone. Altogether there are eight room categories, which differ mainly in size and view.

No wonder that Hotel Josef is the only hotel in Prague to be a member of the curated Design community Hotels™, which includes 270 hotels in 50 countries and which has a particular passion for visionary design and sincere hospitality.

But it’s not just the architecture and fantastic location that make Hotel Josef a special place to stay and feel at home: A welcome gift from the hotel’s own patisserie, bathroom products from the world capital of perfume, a free minibar filled with Czech specialities and freshly roasted coffee and a breakfast buffet that leaves nothing to be desired.

Explore Prague on a design icon? No problem! The Čezeta – translated “the pig” – is a real scooter original, which with its aerodynamic silhouette provides a lot of driving fun. In the Hotel Josef you can borrow the exclusively designed electric special edition free of charge.

www.hoteljosef.com

Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-00 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-01 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-02 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-21 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-08 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-07 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-22 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-03 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-04 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-05 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-06 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-16 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-10 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-13 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-14 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-17 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-15 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-12 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-18 Hotel-Josef-Prag-slanted-2018-20

Hotel Josef

Slanted in Prag

Autor: Julia Kahl

Vor genau 50 Jahren ist das Prager Volk auf die Straßen gegangen, um für die Reformbemühungen der kommunistischen Partei zu kämpfen, einen demokratischen, sozial gerechten und modernen Staat zu errichten. Heute, 50 Jahre später, ist Prag eine Stadt mit viel Geschichte und Sehenswürdigkeiten wie dem Prager Schloss und der Karlsbrücke, die von Touristenströmen geradezu verschlungen werden, aber auch eine energiegeladene Metropole, die am Puls der Zeit tickt und kulturell viel zu bieten hat.

Vergangene Woche waren wir für die Frühjahr/Sommer-Ausgabe des Slanted Magazins in Prag, um einen Blick auf die dortige Designszene zu werfen und die Seele der Stadt kennenzulernen. Während unseres Aufenthalts durften wir in dem Designhotel Josef übernachten, das sich in einer pittoresken Seitenstraße neben der Altstadt befindet und von der renommierten Architektin Eva Jiřičná entworfen wurde.

Gekonnte Lichtinszenierung und sensibler Materialeinsatz kennzeichnen den konsequenten und geradlinigen Stil des ganzen Hauses. Ein Highlight aus der Feder Jiřičnás sind die Badezimmer, die sich entweder konsequent aus Glas zum Schlafraum hin öffnen oder mit Stein verkleidet sind. Insgesamt gibt es acht Zimmerkategorien, die sich vor allem durch Größe und Aussicht voneinander unterscheiden.

Kein Wunder, dass das Hotel Josef als einziges Hotel Prags Mitglied der kuratierten Gemeinschaft Design Hotels™ ist, zu der 270 Hotels in 50 Ländern gehören und die sich durch eine besondere Passion für visionäres Design und aufrichtige Gastfreundlichkeit auszeichnen.

Aber nicht nur die Architektur und fantastische Lage machen das Hotel Josef zu einer besonderen Unterkunft, in der man sich wohlfühlen kann: Ein Willkommensgeschenk aus der hauseigenen Patisserie, Badezimmerprodukte aus der Welthauptstadt des Parfums, kostenlose Minibar gefüllt mit tschechischen Spezialitäten und frisch geröstetem Kaffee und ein Frühstücks-Buffet, das wirklich keine Wünsche offen lässt.

Prag auf einer Design-Ikone erkunden? Kein Problem! Die Čezeta – übersetzt »das Schwein« – ist ein echtes Roller-Original, das mit seiner aerodynamischen Silhouette für jede Menge Fahrspaß sorgt. Im Hotel Josef kann man die exklusiv gestaltete Elektro-Sonderedition kostenlos ausleihen.

www.hoteljosef.com