Indiecon 2019

Independent Publishing Festival

Author: Julia Kahl

One hall for publishing diversity: come the first weekend in September, over 70 magazines and small publishers from every corner of the world will be showing and selling their work at the Oberhafen in Hamburg. Some 4,000 visitors from the media, arts and creative industries will charge up their batteries with fresh design, new narrative forms and progressive ideas for distribution.

Year-round inspiration

The trade show has been held once a year since 2014, bringing together self-motivated producers of magazines, zines, comics, art books and other wonderful narratives. Die Brueder Publishing organises and curates the event. During Indiecon, new and established publishers can hone their abilities and skills and connect with an international magazine and publishing scene. 60 to 80 exhibitors present their work, revealing new aesthetics, narrative forms and production techniques. Independent publishers are joined by young publishing companies, agencies and studios as well as student projects.

Discover publishing diversity

Printed or digital, independent magazines and books are an important part of our free society. They give a voice to social movements, experiment with form and content, can spark off debates and bring little-noticed topics under the public gaze. The community of magazine makers joins forces at Indiecon with art book and zine publishers and with innovative independent publishing companies. Themes include literature and journalism, comics, illustration and pop, photography, architecture and popular science, politics, business and everything in between.

Sharing ideas with professionals

Experienced publishers, coaches and service providers from production, marketing or distribution unlock their toolboxes at Indiecon and share their market knowledge. As well as the professionals with their expert feedback, many readers and magazine fans come to the festival and pick up the publications – the magic moment for any publisher. They eyeball the magazines, zines and books, leaf through them, read them and provide valuable feedback. Do new ideas develop here? Certainly new reading relationships. At least there’s a good chance of finding something new at Indiecon that would otherwise lead a hidden life in drawers or backyard workshops.

Program

Three days of independent publishing – with music and play, snacks and sips.
Friday 6 Sept., from 18.00: Leisurely set-up, leisurely beer drinking, with press people
Saturday 7 Sept., 12:00 – 18.00: Serious networking, serious beer drinking
Saturday 07.09. 18 Uhr: Leisurely getting in the groove, party from 22.00
Sunday 8 Sept., 12:00 – 18.00: Trade show
Sunday 8 Sept., 18:00 – 20.00:  Leisurely take-down

Pricing

Admission as visitor: No charge, catalogue €5,–
Exhibitors: First table €50,–, each additional table + €100,–

slanted-indiecon-2019-01 slanted-indiecon-2019-02 slanted-indiecon-2019-03 slanted-indiecon-2019-04 slanted-indiecon-2019-06 slanted-indiecon-2019-05 slanted-indiecon-2019-07

Indiecon 2019

Independent Publishing Festival

Autor: Julia Kahl

Die Indiecon hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren als feste Größe im Bereich des Independent Publishing etabliert. Was mal klein als Konferenz begonnen hat, hat sich nun zu einer gestandenen Messe gemausert, die den Hamburger Oberhafen fest im Griff hat.

Mehr als 70 Magazine und Kleinverlage aus aller Welt zeigen und verkaufen ihre Arbeiten im Hamburger Oberhafen. Rund 4.000 Gäste aus Medien, Kultur und Kreativwirtschaft laden sich auf mit frischem Design, neuen Erzählformen und fortschrittlichen Vertriebsideen.

Inspiration für das ganze Jahr

Die Fachmesse bringt seit 2014 einmal jährlich Menschen zusammen, die aus eigenem Antrieb Magazine, Zines, Comics, Artbooks oder andere wundersame Erzählwerke produzieren. Der Verlag Die Brueder Publishing organisiert und kuratiert die Veranstaltung. Während der Indiecon können neue und etablierte Publisher ihre Fähig- und Fertigkeiten weiterentwickeln und sich mit einer internationalen Magazin und Verlags-Szene vernetzen. Die 60 bis 80 AustellerInnen zeigen mit ihren Arbeiten neue Ästhetiken, Erzählformen und Produktionstechniken. Neben Independent Publishern beteiligen sich junge Verlage, Agenturen und Studios sowie studentische Projekte.

Publizistische Vielfalt entdecken

Unabhängige Magazine und Bücher sind – gedruckt wie digital – ein wichtiger Teil unserer freien Gesellschaft. Sie geben gesellschaftlichen Strömungen eine Stimme, experimentieren mit Inhalt und Form, können Debatten anstoßen und wenig beachtete Themen in die Öffentlichkeit tragen. Die Community der MagazinmacherInnen verbündet sich auf der Indiecon mit Künstlerbuch- und Zine- Publishern sowie mit innovativen unabhängige Verlagen. Thematisch geht es um Literatur und Journalismus, Comic, Illustration und Pop, Fotografie, Architektur und Populärwissenschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft und alles dazwischen.

Austausch mit Fachmenschen

Erfahrene HerausgeberInnen, Coaches und DienstleisterInnen aus Herstellung, Vermarktung oder Vertrieb machen auf der Indiecon ihre Werkzeugkoffer auf und teilen ihr Marktwissen. Neben ihrem fachlichen Feedback kommen viele LeserInnen und Magazin-Fans auf die Messe und nehmen die Publikationen in die Hand – der magische Moment für jeden Publisher. Sie beschnuppern, blättern und lesen Magazine, Zines und Bücher und geben wertvolles Feedback. Entstehen hier neue Ideen? In jedem Fall neue Lesebeziehungen. Zumindest sind die Chancen hoch, bei der Indiecon Neues zu finden, das sonst vielleicht in Schubladen oder Hinterhof- Werkstätten verborgen bliebe.

Programm

Drei Tage Independent Publishing – mit Musik und Spiel sowie Happs und Schlürf.
Freitag 06.09. 12 Uhr: Entspanntes Aufbauen, entspanntes Biertrinken, mit Pressebegleitung
Freitag 06.09. 18 Uhr: Ernsthaftes Netzwerken, ernsthaftes Biertrinken
Samstag 07.09. 12-18 Uhr: Messe
Samstag 07.09. 18 Uhr: Entspanntes Eingrooven, ab 22 Uhr Party
Sonntag 08.09. 12-18 Uhr: Messe
Sonntag 08.09. 18-20 Uhr: Entspanntes Abbauen

Preise

Für BesucherInnen: kostenlos, Katalog ca. 5 Euro
Für AusstellerInnen: Einzeltisch 50 Euro jeder weitere Tisch + 100 Euro
Hier kann man sich bewerben.

indiecon-festival.com

slanted-indiecon-2019-01 slanted-indiecon-2019-02 slanted-indiecon-2019-03 slanted-indiecon-2019-04 slanted-indiecon-2019-06 slanted-indiecon-2019-05 slanted-indiecon-2019-07