K. H. Drescher—Berlin Typo Posters, Texts, and Interviews

Preorder on Kickstarter

Author: Julia Kahl

Please help us to publish this comprehensive publication about the typographic work and life of the designer of the Berliner Ensemble Karl-Heinz Drescher (1937–2011)! The book is now available for preorder on kickstarter.

While researching in the university archive of Burg Giebichenstein (Halle, Saale, DE) for his master studies, the designer Markus Lange came across the fantastic typographic poster artwork of Karl-Heinz Drescher (* October 7, 1936 in Quirl; † May 19, 2011 in Berlin), a graphic artist, who studied from 1955 to 1960 in the former GDR at the same school (formerly known as Hochschule für industrielle Formgestaltung). In the 100-year history of the university Drescher’s name was rather unknown and nobody knew anything about him. In a 1-year research Markus Lange got in touch with Drescher’s family, and conducted various interviews with companions and friends to get to know more about this talented designer.

Lange found out, that Drescher joined the Berliner Ensemble in 1962, the theater founded by Berthold Brecht for which he worked as a graphic designer for almost 40 years under the direction of Brecht’s wife Helene Weigel. In addition to his work at this house, Drescher also worked for other organizers, museums, galleries, and theaters, amongst others the Akademie der Künste der DDR, the Maxim-Gorki-Theater, and the Deutsche Staatsoper in Berlin. His catalog of works today comprises over 400 posters, about one third printed with letterpress.

For the first time, this book summarizes most of Drescher’s (typographic) posters in one comprehensive volume. The book contains texts and interviews by various authors such as Dr. Friedrich Diekmann, Dr. Sylke Wunderlich, Helmut Brade, Niklaus Troxler, Gerd Fleischmann, Jamie Murphy, Erik Spiekermann, Ferdinand Ulrich, Götz Gramlich, Peter Kammerer, Vera Tenschert, Cesarina and Alessandro Drescher.

This publication serves as a review of the life of an extraordinary theater graphic designer but also as an inspiration for the here and now. Please help us reach the goal, to sum up the amazing work of an outstanding designer. Pledges start from €5,– and include many exclusive rewards like early bird discounts, original posters, mention in the book, …

Published by: Slanted Publishers and Markus Lange
Concept and Design: Markus Lange
Release: February 2020
Format: 195 × 265 mm
Volume: 272 pages
Language: German + English
Printing: Offset
Edition: 1,000
ISBN: 978-3-948440-00-8

Preorder your copy on Kickstarter!

slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_01 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_02 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-archive_12 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_03 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_15 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_04 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_14 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_05 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_06 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-archive_05 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_07 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_08 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_09 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_10 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-archive_02 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_11 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_12 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_16 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_13 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-archive_11 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-archive_09

Karl-Heinz Drescher Berlin Typo Posters Cover

K. H. Drescher – Berlin Typo Posters, Texts and Interviews

Jetzt auf Kickstarter vorbestellen

Autor: Julia Kahl

Bitte helft uns, diese umfassende Publikation über das typografische Werk und Leben des Designers des Berliner Ensembles Karl-Heinz Drescher (1937–2011) zu veröffentlichen! Das Buch ist ab sofort über Kickstarter vorbestellbar!

Bei der Recherche für sein Masterstudium im Universitätsarchiv der Burg Giebichenstein (Halle, Saale, DE) stieß der Designer Markus Lange  auf das fantastische typografische Plakatwerk von Karl-Heinz Drescher (* 7. Oktober 1936 in Quirl; † 19. Mai 2011 in Berlin), einem Grafiker, der von 1955 bis 1960 in der ehemaligen DDR an derselben Schule (früher Hochschule für industrielle Formgestaltung) studierte. In der 100-jährigen Geschichte der Universität war der Name Drescher eher unbekannt und niemand wusste etwas über ihn. In einer einjährigen Recherche nahm Markus Lange Kontakt mit der Familie von Drescher auf und führte verschiedene Interviews mit Begleitern und Freunden, um mehr über diesen talentierten Designer zu erfahren.

Lange erfuhr, dass Drescher 1962 dem von Berthold Brecht gegründeten Berliner Ensemble beitrat, für das er fast 40 Jahre lang unter der Leitung von Brechts Frau Helene Weigel als Grafiker arbeitete. Neben seiner Arbeit in diesem Haus arbeitete Drescher auch für andere Veranstalter, Museen, Galerien und Theater, unter anderem für die Akademie der Künste der DDR, das Maxim-Gorki-Theater und die Deutsche Staatsoper in Berlin. Sein Werkkatalog umfasst heute über 400 Plakate, davon rund ein Drittel im Buchdruck.

Erstmals fasst dieses Buch die meisten der (typografischen) Poster von Drescher in einem umfassenden Band zusammen. Das Buch enthält Texte und Interviews von renommierten Autoren wie Dr. Friedrich Diekmann, Dr. Sylke Wunderlich, Helmut Brade, Niklaus Troxler, Gerd Fleischmann, Jamie Murphy, Erik Spiekermann, Ferdinand Ulrich, Götz Gramlich, Peter Kammerer, Vera Tenschert, Cesarina und Alessandro Drescher.

Diese Publikation dient als Rückblick auf das Leben eines außergewöhnlichen Theatergrafikers, aber auch als Inspiration für das Hier und Jetzt. Bitte helfen Sie uns, das Ziel zu erreichen, die erstaunliche Arbeit eines hervorragenden Designers zusammenzufassen. Die Kickstarter-Pakete beginnen bei 5,– € und beinhalten viele exklusive Belohnungen wie Frühbucherrabatte, Original-Plakate, Erwähnung im Buch, …

Herausgeber: Slanted Publishers und Markus Lange
Konzept und Design: Markus Lange
Veröffentlichung: Februar 2020
Format: 195 × 265 mm
Umfang: 272 Seiten
Sprache: Deutsch + Englisch
Produktion: Offset
Auflage: ca. 1.000 Stück
ISBN: 978-3-948440-00-8

Jetzt das Buch bei Kickstarter vorbestellen!

Karl-Heinz Drescher Berlin Typo Posters Cover

slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_01 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_04 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_14 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_02 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-archive_12 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_03 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_15 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_05 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_06 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-archive_05 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_07 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_08 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_10 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_09 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-archive_02 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_11 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_16 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_12 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-typo-posters_13 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-archive_11 slanted-k-h-drescher-berlin-archive_09