Typeface of the Month: Monterchi

by Zetafonts

Author: Isabella Krüger

Monterchi is an ode to the typefaces of the early Renaissance and their detailed ornaments, ligatures, and constructed geometric beauty. With Monterchi, the Zetafons designers have succeeded in creating a true working typeface that can be used in any design environment of modern life and yet still lives up to its historical origins.

In 1459, while visiting his dying mother, Italian painter Piero della Francesca spent seven days creating a fresco of a pregnant Madonna in a small country church in the hilltown of Monterchi located near Arezzo, in Italy. Hailed today as one of the masterpieces of Italian Renaissance, the fresco was given a new branding in 2019 by Italian art director Riccardo Falcinelli who asked the Zetafonts team to develop a custom font for the project.

Cosimo Lorenzo Pancini, lead designer for the project, decided to start from the extensive research work made in 2016 by Francesco Canovaro for his Beatrix Antiqua and Florentia typefaces—based on the same inscriptions in Basilica di Santa Croce in Florence that had inspired Hermann Zapf’s Optima typeface. These classical uppercase letterforms, with their striking geometric proportions and flared serifs, are the same used by Piero della Francesca itself in some of his hand-painted autograph inscriptions—where one can also notice the ligature forms that were created by middle age stone carvers as a way to keep a consistent balance for each line while carving more letters in a given space. Over one hundred of these ligature letterforms where researched and added to the typeface with the help of Andrea Tartarelli and Maria Chiara Fantini, who also helped develop the lower case alphabet, inspired by the early humanist minuscules like the Littera Antiqua as reimagined by humanist punch cutters like Jenson and Griffo.

The resulting typeface system is a 50-weights ode to the beauty of classical roman letterforms and their renaissance re-discovery, pairing elegant alternate forms and quirky uppercase ligatures with an array of design features for clear and effective editorial, signage, logo and wayfinding design. The base display family Monterchi allows endless design expressions with a range of six weights from the slender thin to the strong Extrabold, all with matching Italics and an array of over one hundred discretionary ligatures. A fine-tuned Monterchi Text version—with a larger x-height and wider spacing—has been developed to remain clear and legible even at small sizes in use as a body text font. The use range of the family is enriched by Monterchi Serif and Monterchi Sans that feature different contemporary interpretations of the same classical geometric skeleton, allowing for layered editorial design and variation in use. While the first offers an alternative to classical humanist serifs, the second family gives a twist of modernity to the family, reducing contrast and embracing modern geometric sans proportions.

All the fifty fonts in the Monterchi Type System feature an extended character set of over 1,100 glyphs covering over 200 languages using the Latin alphabet, as well as Greek and Russian Cyrillic. OpenType features include small caps, positional figures, alternate letterforms, stylistic sets and over a hundred discretionary uppercase ligatures.

With his elegant, historical aesthetic, Monterchi embodies the spirit of early Renaissance and the humanist obsession with constructed and geometric beauty—still managing to function as a workhorse family, ready to help any designer in need of a timeless classic look, or looking for the right ligature to transform a simple word into a striking wordmark.

Monterchi

Foundry: Zetafonts
Designer: Cosimo Lorenzo Pancini with Francesco Canovaro, Andrea Tartarelli, and Maria Chiara Fantini
Release: 2019
Format: Desktop, Web, App
Weights: Four families—Display, Text, Sans, and Serif:
Monterchi Display: Thin, Thin Italic, Light, Light Italic,  Book, Book Italic, Regular, Italic,Bold, Bold Italic, ExtraBold, ExtraBold Italic
Monterchi Text: Thin, Thin Italic, Light, Light Italic,  Book, Book Italic, Regular, Italic,Bold, Bold Italic, ExtraBold, ExtraBold Italic
Monterchi Sans: Thin, Thin Italic, Light, Light Italic,  Book, Book Italic, Regular, Italic,Bold, Bold Italic, ExtraBold, ExtraBold Italic, Heavy, Heavy Italic
Monterchi Serif: Thin, Thin Italic, Light, Light Italic,  Book, Book Italic, Regular, Italic,Bold, Bold Italic, ExtraBold, ExtraBold Italic
Price: Single weights from 25.– € (some weights free), full family (50 styles) from 181.– €

monterchi002 monterchi003 monterchi004 monterchi005 monterchi006 monterchi007 monterchi008 monterchi009 monterchi010 monterchi011 monterchi012

Typeface of the Month: Monterchi

von Zetafonts

Autor: Isabella Krüger

Monterchi ist eine Ode an die Schriften der Frührenaissance und deren detailverliebten Ornamenten, Ligaturen und konstruierter, geometrischer Schönheit. Mit Monterchi schafften es die Designer von Zetafons, eine echte Arbeitsschrift zu kreieren, die in jedem Bereich der heutigen Zeit angewendet werden kann und trotzdem ihrem historischen Ursprung gerecht wird.

1459, während er seine sterbende Mutter besuchte, verbrachte der italienische Maler Piero della Francesca sieben Tage damit, ein Fresko einer schwangeren Madonna in einer kleinen ländlichen Kirche in der Hügelstadt Monterchi in der Nähe von Arezzo in Italien zu schaffen. Das Fresko, das heute als eines der Meisterwerke der italienischen Renaissance gilt, wurde 2019 vom italienischen Art-Direktor Riccardo Falcinelli mit einem neuen Branding versehen, der das Zetafonts-Team bat, eine individuelle Schrift für das Projekt zu entwickeln.

Cosimo Lorenzo Pancini, leitender Designer des Projekts, beschloss, von der umfangreichen Forschungsarbeit auszugehen, die Francesco Canovaro 2016 für seine Beatrix Antiqua- und Florentia-Schriften geleistet hatte – basierend auf den gleichen Inschriften in der Basilika di Santa Croce in Florenz, die Hermann Zapf zur Optima-Schrift inspiriert hatten. Diese klassischen Großbuchstaben mit ihren markanten geometrischen Proportionen und ausgestellten Serifen sind die gleichen, die Piero della Francesca selbst in einigen seiner handgemalten autographen Inschriften verwendet – wo man auch die Ligaturformen erkennen kann, die von Steinbildhauern des Mittelalters geschaffen wurden, um eine gleichbleibende Balance für jede Linie zu halten und gleichzeitig mehr Buchstaben in einem bestimmten Raum zu schnitzen. Über hundert dieser Ligaturbuchstabenformen wurden mit Hilfe von Andrea Tartarelli und Maria Chiara Fantini recherchiert und der Schrift hinzugefügt, die auch das Kleinbuchstabenalphabet mitentwickelten, inspiriert von den frühen humanistischen Minuskeln wie der Littera Antiqua, die von humanistischen Stanzmaschinen wie Jenson und Griffo neu interpretiert wurden.

Das daraus resultierende Schriftsystem ist eine 50-Schnitte-Ode an die Schönheit klassischer römischer Buchstabenformen und deren Renaissance-Wiederentdeckung, die elegante Alternativformen und eigenwillige Großbuchstaben-Ligaturen mit einer Reihe von Designmerkmalen für klares und effektives Redaktions-, Beschilderungs-, Logo- und Wegweisungsdesign verbindet. Die Basis-Display-Familie Monterchi ermöglicht endlose Designausdrücke mit einer Bandbreite von sechs Gewichten von der schlanken, dünnen bis zur starken, extrafetten Schrift, alle mit passender Kursivschrift und einer Auswahl von über hundert beliebigen Ligaturen. Eine fein abgestimmte Monterchi Text-Version – mit einer größeren x-Höhe und einem größeren Abstand – wurde entwickelt, um auch bei kleinen Schriftgrößen, die als Body-Text-Schrift verwendet wird, klar und lesbar zu bleiben. Der Einsatzbereich der Familie wird durch Monterchi Serif und Monterchi Sans bereichert, die verschiedene zeitgenössische Interpretationen desselben klassischen geometrischen Skeletts bieten, was ein mehrschichtiges redaktionelles Design und eine Variation der Nutzung ermöglicht. Während die erste eine Alternative zu klassischen humanistischen Serifen bietet, verleiht die zweite Familie der Familie einen Hauch von Modernität, reduziert den Kontrast und umfasst moderne geometrische Größenverhältnisse.

Alle fünfzig Schriften des Monterchi Schriftsystems verfügen über einen erweiterten Zeichensatz von über 1.100 Glyphen, die über 200 Sprachen mit lateinischem Alphabet sowie griechisch und russisch-kyrillisch abdecken. Zu den OpenType-Funktionen gehören Kapitälchen, Positionszahlen, alternative Buchstabenformen, stilistische Sets und über hundert beliebige Ligaturen in Großbuchstaben.

Mit seiner eleganten, historischen Ästhetik verkörpert Monterchi den Geist der Frührenaissance und die humanistische Obsession für konstruierte und geometrische Schönheit – und das immer noch als Arbeitspferdfamilie, bereit, jedem Designer zu helfen, der einen zeitlosen, klassischen Look braucht, oder auf der Suche nach der richtigen Ligatur, um ein einfaches Wort in eine markante Wortmarke zu verwandeln.

Monterchi

Foundry: Zetafonts
Designer: Cosimo Lorenzo Pancini mit Francesco Canovaro, Andrea Tartarelli und Maria Chiara Fantini
Veröffentlichung: 2019
Format: Desktop, Web, App
Schnitte: 4 Familien – Display, Text, Sans und Serif:
Monterchi Display: Thin, Thin Italic, Light, Light Italic,  Book, Book Italic, Regular, Italic,Bold, Bold Italic, ExtraBold, ExtraBold Italic
Monterchi Text: Thin, Thin Italic, Light, Light Italic,  Book, Book Italic, Regular, Italic,Bold, Bold Italic, ExtraBold, ExtraBold Italic
Monterchi Sans: Thin, Thin Italic, Light, Light Italic,  Book, Book Italic, Regular, Italic,Bold, Bold Italic, ExtraBold, ExtraBold Italic, Heavy, Heavy Italic
Monterchi Serif: Thin, Thin Italic, Light, Light Italic,  Book, Book Italic, Regular, Italic,Bold, Bold Italic, ExtraBold, ExtraBold Italic
Preis: Einzelschnitte ab  25,– € (einige Schnitte kostenlos), ganze Familie (50 Styles) ab 181,– €

monterchi002 monterchi003 monterchi004 monterchi005 monterchi006 monterchi007 monterchi008 monterchi009 monterchi010 monterchi011 monterchi012