Preorder: Karl-Heinz Drescher—Berlin Typo Posters, Texts, and Interviews

Release: Februar 2020
Volume: 272 pages
Format: 19,5 × 26,5 × 2,5 cm
Price: 40,00 

While researching in the university archive of Burg Giebichenstein (Halle, Saale, DE) for his master studies, the designer Markus Lange came across the fantastic typographic poster artwork of Karl-Heinz Drescher (* October 7, 1936 in Quirl; † May 19, 2011 in Berlin), a graphic artist, who studied from 1955 to 1960 in the former GDR at the same school (formerly known as Hochschule für industrielle Formgestaltung). In the 100-year history of the university Drescher’s name was rather unknown and nobody knew anything about him. In a 1-year research Markus Lange got in touch with Drescher’s family, and conducted various interviews with companions and friends to get to know more about this talented designer.

Lange found out, that Drescher joined the Berliner Ensemble in 1962, the theater founded by Berthold Brecht for which he worked as a graphic designer for almost 40 years under the direction of Brecht’s wife Helene Weigel. In addition to his work at this house, Drescher also worked for other organizers, museums, galleries, and theaters, amongst others the Akademie der Künste der DDR, the Maxim-Gorki-Theater, and the Deutsche Staatsoper in Berlin. His catalog of works today comprises over 400 posters, about one third printed with letterpress.

The result is the publication “Karl-Heinz Drescher—Berlin Typo Posters, Texts, and Interviews.” For the first time, the book summarizes most of Drescher’s (typographic) posters in one comprehensive volume and contains texts and interviews by various authors such as Dr. Friedrich Diekmann, Dr. Sylke Wunderlich, Helmut Brade, Niklaus Troxler, Gerd Fleischmann, Jamie Murphy, Erik Spiekermann, Ferdinand Ulrich, Götz Gramlich, Peter Kammerer, Vera Tenschert, Cesarina and Alessandro Drescher. “Karl-Heinz Drescher—Berlin Typo Posters, Texts, and Interviews” serves as a review of the life of an extraordinary theater graphic designer but also as an inspiration for the here and now.

Editor

Markus Lange, Slanted Publishers

Design

Markus Lange

Release

Februar 2020

Format in cm (w × h × d)

19,5 × 26,5 × 2,5 cm

Volume

272 pages

Language

English, German

Printing

4-color Offset

ISBN

978-3-948440-00-8

Vorbestellung: Karl-Heinz Drescher – Berlin Typo Posters, Texts and Interviews

Veröffentlichung: Februar 2020
Umfang: 272 Seiten
Format: 19,5 × 26,5 × 2,5 cm
Preis: 40,00 

Der Designer Markus Lange stieß während seiner Recherchen für sein Masterstudium im Universitätsarchiv der Burg Giebichenstein (Halle, Saale, DE) auf das fantastische typografische Plakatwerk von Karl-Heinz Drescher (* 7. Oktober 1936 in Quirl; † 19. Mai 2011 in Berlin), einem Grafiker, der von 1955 bis 1960 in der ehemaligen DDR an derselben Schule (früher Hochschule für industrielle Formgestaltung) studierte. In der 100-jährigen Geschichte der Universität war der Name Drescher eher unbekannt und niemand wusste etwas über ihn. In einer einjährigen Recherche nahm Markus Lange Kontakt mit der Familie von Drescher auf und führte verschiedene Interviews mit Begleitern und Freunden, um mehr über diesen talentierten Designer zu erfahren.

Lange erfuhr, dass Drescher 1962 dem von Berthold Brecht gegründeten Berliner Ensemble beitrat, für das er fast 40 Jahre lang unter der Leitung von Brechts Frau Helene Weigel als Grafiker arbeitete. Neben seiner Arbeit in diesem Haus arbeitete Drescher auch für andere Veranstalter, Museen, Galerien und Theater, unter anderem für die Akademie der Künste der DDR, das Maxim-Gorki-Theater und die Deutsche Staatsoper in Berlin. Sein Werkkatalog umfasst heute über 400 Plakate, davon rund ein Drittel im Buchdruck.

Entstanden ist daraus die Publikation »Karl-Heinz Drescher – Berlin Typo Posters, Texts and Interviews«. Sie fasst die meisten der (typografischen) Poster von Drescher in einem umfassenden Band zusammen und enthält begleitende Texte und Interviews von verschiedenen Autoren wie Dr. Friedrich Diekmann, Dr. Sylke Wunderlich, Helmut Brade, Niklaus Troxler, Gerd Fleischmann, Jamie Murphy, Erik Spiekermann, Ferdinand Ulrich, Götz Gramlich, Peter Kammerer, Vera Tenschert, Cesarina und Alessandro Drescher. »Karl-Heinz Drescher – Berlin Typo Posters, Texts and Interviews« dient als Rückblick auf das Leben eines außergewöhnlichen Theatergrafikers, aber auch als Inspiration für das Hier und Jetzt.

Herausgeber

Markus Lange, Slanted Publishers

Gestaltung

Markus Lange

Veröffentlichung

Februar 2020

Format in cm (b × h × t)

19,5 × 26,5 × 2,5 cm

Umfang

272 Seiten

Sprache

Englisch, Deutsch

Druck

4-farbig Offset

ISBN

978-3-948440-00-8