Play Life—Neighbors in the Western Balkans

Release: June 2019
Volume: 120 pages, 58 photographs
Format: 15 × 21.5 cm
Price: 29,90 

People around the world define themselves again through an old phenomenon: nation states. The nation as a savior in a complex world. One’s own state is glorified and lowers other nations in an imaginary hierarchy. Historically, nation states are a young phenomenon. Only since the French Revolution have people sought identity in language, borders and nation. Before that, kings ruled over a multitude of countries and peoples. Many languages ​​were spoken in their territory and the population belonged to different religions. In absolutism, the king held the people together.

New political ideas and economic production approaches required new identification mechanisms. Language, race and border now formed a nation. National myths emerged that historically established this new definition of the state. The Germans used the war against France in 1871, a German king was proclaimed emperor—although in 1815 Germany still consisted of more than 39 states that united to form the German Confederation. The new states of the Western Balkans used similar approaches to define their national identity. Some built pseudo-historical buildings and sculptures to underline the historical existence of their nations, others used religion and reinterpretations of historical moments in the Balkans to substantiate their belief in the right to dominate other nations. Looked at from the outside, it looks like a mimicry of commonly used patterns for building nations—it looks like “Play Life.”

The Balkans have been multicultural for centuries. The different dynasties tolerated the mix of religions, languages ​​and traditions. The photographs in the book show seemingly casual everyday situations, but why 15 years after the Kosovo war is still the ruined Ministry of Defense in Belgrade? Why are over 2,000 new monuments in Skopje?

Only since the collapse of the Yugoslav Republic have nationalist forces established marginal differences as a pattern of separation. The most serious example of a nationalist reinterpretation is language. Serbo-Croatian has been a language with a grammatical system since the 18th century. Following the collapse of Yugoslavia, the successor states developed new names for politically motivated reasons: Croatian, Serbian, Bosnian and Montenegrin. These can not be defined linguistically as mutually independent languages. Rather, it is about slightly different realizations of a macro language and thus de facto the same language system—Serbo-Croat.

Publisher

Slanted Publishers

Design

Lars Harmsen

Photographer

Dirk Gebhardt

Release

June 2019

Volume

120 pages, 58 photographs

Format in cm (w × h × d)

15 × 21.5 cm

Language

English

Edition

500, numbered and signed

Workmanship

Rubber band

ISBN

978-3-9818296-4-8

Play Life – Neighbors in the Western Balkans

Veröffentlichung: Juni 2019
Umfang: 120 Seiten, 58 Fotografien
Format: 15 × 21,5 cm
Preis: 29,90 

Weltweit definieren sich Menschen erneut durch ein altes Phänomen: Nationalstaaten. Die Nation als Heilsbringer in einer komplexen Welt, der eigene Staat wird glorifiziert und setzt andere Nationen in einer imaginären Hierarchie herab. Geschichtlich gesehen sind Nationalstaaten eine junge Erscheinung. Erst seit der Französischen Revolution haben Menschen nach Identität in Sprache, Grenzen und Nation gesucht. Davor herrschten Könige über eine Vielzahl von Ländern und Völkern. In ihrem Hoheitsgebiet wurden viele Sprachen gesprochen und die Bevölkerung gehörte verschiedenen Religionen an. Im Absolutismus hielt der König das Volk zusammen.

Neue politische Ideen und wirtschaftliche Produktionsansätze erforderten neue Identifikationsmechanismen. Sprache, Rasse und Grenze bildeten nun eine Nation. Es entstanden nationale Mythen, die diese neue Definition des Staates historisch begründeten. Die Deutschen nutzten den Krieg gegen Frankreich 1871, ein deutscher König wurde zum Kaiser proklamiert – obwohl Deutschland 1815 noch aus mehr als 39 Staaten bestand, die sich zum Deutschen Bund vereinigten. Die neuen Staaten des Westbalkans verwendeten ähnliche Ansätze, um ihre nationale Identität zu definieren. Einige bauten pseudogeschichtliche Gebäude und Skulpturen, um die historische Existenz ihrer Nationen zu unterstreichen, andere verwendeten Religion und Neuinterpretationen historischer Momente auf dem Balkan, um ihren Glauben an das Recht auf Dominanz über die anderen Nationen zu untermauern. Von außen betrachtet sieht es aus wie eine Mimikry von häufig verwendeten Mustern für den Aufbau von Nationen – es sieht aus wie »Play Life«.

Von 2009 bis 2017 hat Dirk Gebhardt die subtilen Symbole des Nationalen im Straßenbild der Hauptstädte, Pristina, Belgrad, Skopje und Sarajevo gesucht. Der Balkan ist seit Jahrhunderten multikulturell geprägt. Die unterschiedlichen Dynastien gingen tolerant mit dem Mix aus Religionen, Sprachen und Traditionen um. Die Fotografien im Buch zeigen scheinbar beiläufige Alltagssituationen, doch warum steht 15 Jahre nach dem Kosovo Krieg immer noch das zerstörte Verteidigungsministerium in Belgrad? Warum stehen in Skopje über 2000 neue Denkmäler?

Erst seit dem Zusammenbruch der Jugoslawischen Republik haben nationalistische Kräfte die marginalen Unterschiede als Separationsmuster etabliert. Gravierendstes Beispiel einer Nationalistischen Umdeutung ist die Sprache. Serbokroatisch ist seit 18. Jahrhundert eine Sprache mit einem grammatikalischen System. Nach dem Zerfall Jugoslawiens entwickelten die Nachfolgestaaten aus politisch motivierten Gründen neue Bezeichnungen: Kroatisch, Serbisch, Bosnisch und Montenegrinisch. Diese kann man Sprachwissenschaftlich nicht als voneinander unabhängige Sprachen definieren. Vielmehr handelt es sich um leicht voneinander abweichende Realisierungen einer Makrosprache und somit de facto um dasselbe Sprachsystem – Serbokroatisch.

Verlag

Slanted Publishers

Gestaltung

Lars Harmsen

Fotograf

Dirk Gebhardt

Veröffentlichung

Juni 2019

Umfang

120 Seiten, 58 Fotografien

Format in cm (b × h × t)

15 × 21,5 cm

Sprache

Englisch

Auflage

500, nummeriert und signiert

Ausführung/Verarbeitung

Festeinband, Gummiband

ISBN

978-3-9818296-4-8