Products in Dialogue

Rhineland-Palatinate and Rwanda

Author: Sebastian Schubmehl

The two-nation exhibition Products in Dialogue shows design from the partner countries Rhineland-Palatinate and Rwanda. The exhibition was first opened in September 2018 in Kigali, the capital of Rwanda, on the occasion of a delegation trip by Rhineland-Palatines Prime Minister Malu Dreyer. From August 2019, the dialogue will continue in Rhineland-Palatinate. In the Festung Ehrenbreitstein, Rhineland-Palatinate and Rwandan design products will once again meet at the same level and connect people and cultures through design as a common “language”. In addition to objects, photographs showing the designers and the development of their products will also be shown.

The exhibition “Products in Dialogue” caught our attention in 2018 and was the initial inspiration for the Slanted Special Issue Rwanda, in which our team took a look at Rwanda’s up-and-coming creative scene. The issue was presented by Julia Kahl during the opening of the exhibition in Koblenz.

Conceptualized by descom—Designforum Rheinland-Pfalz , the exhibition will be realized in cooperation with Partnerschaftsverein Rheinland-Pfalz/Ruanda e.V. and Generaldirektion Kulturelles Erbe Rheinland-Pfalz .

Designers exhibiting: Bag label Moi Dasch by Marina Furin. Shoe manufacturer Peter Kaiser. Carpentry Summer. Illustrator Annina Baeger, Communication Design Christiane Landgraf, Fashion label Simply Wear by Stefanie Wiebelhaus, Lamp manufacturer Looks, Jewellery by Claudia Adam and Jörg Stoffel, Fashion design by House of Tayo, Fashion and accessories by Haute Baso, Illustrator Dolph Banza, Jewellery by Inzuki Design, Footwear designed by Uzuri K&Y, Fashion design by Moshions, Results of research and prototypes by the African Design Center

Products in Dialogue. Design from Rwanda and Rhineland-Palatinate.

When?
From August 30th, 2019 until August 16th, 2020

Opening hours:
Monday-Friday: from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Where?
Landesmuseum Koblenz
Haus des Genusses
Festung Ehrenbreitstein
56077 Koblenz

Slanted Special Issue – Rwanda

Publisher: Slanted Publishers
Release: August 2019
Photographer: Daniel Sommer
Volume: 128 pages
Format in cm: 16 × 24 cm
Price: 12,00 €

Press photos: GDKE und U. Pfeuffer.
Photographers at the exhibition: Katharina Dubno in Rhineland-Palatinate, Chris Schwagga in Rwanda.

slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_28 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_19 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_33 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_32 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_29 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_26 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_30 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_11 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_04 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_12 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_01 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_02 Slanted-Special-Issue-Rwanda_00 Slanted-Special-Issue-Rwanda_02 Slanted-Special-Issue-Rwanda_03 Slanted-Special-Issue-Rwanda_06 Slanted-Special-Issue-Rwanda_05 Slanted-Special-Issue-Rwanda_19

Produkte im Dialog

Produkte im Dialog

Rheinland-Pfalz und Ruanda

Autor: Sebastian Schubmehl

Die bi-nationale Ausstellung Produkte im Dialog zeigt Design der Partnerländer Rheinland-Pfalz und Ruanda. Die Ausstellung wurde erstmals im September 2018 anlässlich einer Delegationsreise der Ministerpräsidentin Malu Dreyer in Kigali, der Hauptstadt Ruandas, eröffnet. Ab August 2019 wird der Dialog nun in Rheinland-Pfalz weitergeführt, wo sich nun in der Festung Ehrenbreitstein rheinland-pfälzische und ruandische Designprodukte auf Augenhöhe begegnen und durch Design als gemeinsame »Sprache« sowohl Menschen als auch Kulturen miteinander verbinden. Neben Objekten werden auch Fotografien gezeigt, die die Designer*innen und die Entstehung ihrer Produkte zeigen.

Die Ausstellung »Produkte im Dialog« erweckte 2018 unsere Aufmerksamkeit und war Auslöser für die Slanted Sonderausgabe Rwanda, in der die Slanted Redaktion selbst einen Blick auf die aufstrebende Kreativszene Ruandas geworfen hat. Die Ausgabe wurde während der Ausstellungseröffnung nun auch in Koblenz von Julia Kahl vorgestellt.

Konzipiert vom Designforum Rheinland-Pfalz wird die Ausstellung in Kooperation mit dem Partnerschaftsverein Rheinland-Pfalz/Ruanda e.V. und der Generaldirektion Kulturelles Erbe Rheinland-Pfalz umgesetzt.

Ausstellende Designer: Taschenlabel Moi Dasch von Marina Furin, Schuhhersteller Peter Kaiser, Tischlerei Sommer, Illustratorin Annina Baeger, Kommunikationsdesign Christiane Landgraf, Modelabel Simply Wear von Stefanie Wiebelhaus, Lampenhersteller Lieht, Schmuckdesigner Claudia, Adam und Jörg Stoffel, Modedesign von House of Tayo, Mode und Accessoires von Haute Baso, Illustrator Dolph Banza, Schmucklabel Inzuki Design, Schuhdesign von Uzuri K&Y, Modedesign von Moshions, Studienergebnisse und Prototypen des African Design Center

Produkte im Dialog. Design aus Ruanda und Rheinland-Pfalz

Wann?
30. August 2019 bis 16. August 2020

Öffnungszeiten:
Montag bis Sonntag von 10 bis 18 Uhr

Wo?
Landesmuseum Koblenz
Haus des Genusses
Festung Ehrenbreitstein
56077 Koblenz

Slanted Special Issue – Rwanda
Verlag: Slanted Publishers
Veröffentlichung: August 2019
Fotograf: Daniel Sommer
Umfang: 128 Seiten
Format: 16 × 24 cm
Preis: 12,00 €

Pressefotos: GDKE und U. Pfeuffer.
Fotografien in der Ausstellung: Katharina Dubno in Rheinland-Pfalz, Chris Schwagga in Ruanda.

Produkte im Dialog

slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_30 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_28 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_29 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_33 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_32 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_19 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_26 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_12 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_11 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_04 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_01 slanted-ausstellung-produkte-im-dialog-ruanda-descom_02 Slanted-Special-Issue-Rwanda_00 Slanted-Special-Issue-Rwanda_02 Slanted-Special-Issue-Rwanda_03 Slanted-Special-Issue-Rwanda_06 Slanted-Special-Issue-Rwanda_05 Slanted-Special-Issue-Rwanda_19