Slanted in Tokyo / Kiyonori Muroga

Slanted in Tokyo

Kiyonori Muroga

Author: Clara Weinreich

A year ago, the Slanted team dove into Tokyo—with their friends Renna Okubo and Ian Lynam preventing them from drowning—to take an intense look at the contrasting design scene. The Japanese capital is a unique place. With its clean streets, punctual transportation and polite service at every turn, Tokyo is more than just a well-run city. It unites cultural extremes: it is a city where the futuristic meets the traditional and tranquility meets speed. In the Slanted #31—Tokyo you can get a visual impression of the studios we visited during our journey.

Born in 1975, in Nagaoka City, Kiyonori Muroga started working as the editor of the graphic design magazine IDEA in 1999 at Seibundo Shinkosha Publishing, and edited a number of design and typography related books. He often contributes to design media and gives lectures at educational organizations. Muroga bridges “design and “dezain” (Japanese katakana).

Take a look at the Slanted Magazine #31—Tokyo to get an idea of Tokyo’s creative environment. Additionally you can find several video-interviews on our video platform to get a deeper insight in the designer’s thoughts.

Slanted in Tokyo / Kiyonori Muroga

Slanted in Tokyo / Kiyonori Muroga

Slanted in Tokyo

Kiyonori Muroga

Author: Clara Weinreich

Als wir im vergangenen Jahr nach Tokyo gereist sind, um mit Hilfe unserer Freunde Renna Okubo und Ian Lynam die dortige Designlandschaft unter die Lupe zu nehmen, wurden wir von den kulturellen Extremen der Stadt überwältigt – das Futuristische trifft auf das Traditionelle, Gelassenheit auf Geschwindigkeit. Und genauso aufregend waren die Arbeiten, die wir während unserer zahlreichen Studiobesuche sehen durften. Im Slanted Magazin #31 – Tokyo zeigen wir Euch einen Querschnitt unserer gesammelten Eindrücke. Online möchten wir euch nun nochmals die Studios vorstellen, die wir dort besucht haben.

Kiyonori Muroga ist Chefredakteur des IDEA Magazins, Japans führendes Grafikdesign Magazin, von dem 1953 die erste Ausgabe erschien. 1999 wurde dann Kiyonori Muroga dann Redakteur bei Seibundo Shinkosha Publishing und brachte seitdem viele design- und typografiebezogene Bücher heraus. Er setzt sich außerdem intensiv mit dem Begriff des Designs in der japanischen Sprache und seinem Einfluss auf die Gesellschaft auseinander.

Werft einen Blick in Slanted #31 – Tokyo, um einige der aufregendsten Kreativen der Stadt kennenzulernen und einen Querschnitt unserer gesammelten Eindrücke zu finden. Zusätzlich findet ihr zahlreiche Video-Interviews auf der Video-Plattform, um einen tieferen Einblick in die Haltung und Schaffensweise der Kreativen aus Tokyo zu erhalten.