Typeface of the Month: Hawkland

Jeremy Tankard Typography

Author: Isabella Krüger

Jeremy Tankard is one of those type designers who have been designing unmistakable fonts with great passion and depth for a long time and who have thus achieved international renown. His latest work is the neoclassical Hawkland, which reflects the details of fonts from the second half of the 18th century (between Old Face designs like Caslon and more rigid Modern designs like Bodoni) and even sharper. This makes the typeface timeless and elegant. We are happy to introduce them to you as our Typeface of the Month:

The design of Hawkland is rooted in the style of types from the latter half of the 18th century, known as Transitional. This period and its typefaces bridge the gap between the Old Face designs, such as Caslon, and the more rigid Modern designs, such as Bodoni. Not being a revival of any specific type of the period, Hawkland freely incorporates sharper and more modelled details that give the type a timeless yet contemporary feel.

Hawkland is a versatile typeface with a range of weights from Thin to Black across two related families, all with extended character sets. The fonts deliver a crisp clear-cut look, perfect for editorial, brand and packaging or simply when a touch of classic finesse is needed. Designed for text use, Hawkland has 12 fonts in roman and italic. Whereas, Hawkland Fine is tuned for larger use at headline and display sizes and includes 4 additional fonts in its range.

The fantastic large format specimen has been designed by Alistair Hall at We Made This. The main book introduces the typeface and includes several tip-in examples showing Hawkland in a variety of uses. There’s also an extended text titled “Shaping Hawkland” which details the inspirations and historical roots that lead to its design.

The specimen has been produced in a short run and is available here.

More information about the design of Hawkland can be read here. Here development sketches and references place the typeface in historical context.

Hawkland

Foundry: Jeremy Tankard Typography
Designer: Jeremy Tankard
Release: September 2018
Format: Desktop, Web, App
Weights: Two families, Hawkland and Hawkland Fine:
Hawkland: Thin, Thin Italic, Light, Light Italic, Regular, Italic, Medium, Medium Italic, Bold, Bold Italic, Black, Black Italic
Hawkland Fine: Thin, Thin Italic, ExtraLight, ExtraLight Italic, Light, Light Italic, Regular, Italic, Medium, Medium Italic, Bold, Bold Italic, ExtraBold, ExtraBold Italic, Black, Black Italic
Price: From £80 GBP for the first font with additional fonts from same family at 50%

JTT_Hawkland-specimen1 JTT_Hawkland-specimen2 JTT_Hawkland-text JTT_Hawkland-use1 JTT_Hawkland-use2 JTT_Hawkland-weights

JTT_Hawkland-specimen1 JTT_Hawkland-specimen2 JTT_Hawkland-text JTT_Hawkland-use1 JTT_Hawkland-use2 JTT_Hawkland-weights

Typeface of the Month: Hawkland

Jeremy Tankard Typography

Autor: Isabella Krüger

Jeremy Tankard gehört zu jenen Schriftgestaltern, die schon seit langer Zeit mit großer Passion und Tiefe unverkennbare Schriften gestalten und dadurch internationales Ansehen errungen haben. Sein neustes Werk ist die neoklassisch anmutende Hawkland, die die Details von Schriften der zweiten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts widerspiegelt (zwischen den Old Face Designs wie Caslon und den starreren Modern Designs wie Bodoni) und sogar schärfer herausarbeitet. Dadurch wirkt die Schrift zeitlos und elegant. Wir freuen uns, sie euch als unser Typeface of the Month vorstellen zu dürfen:

Hawkland ist eine vielseitige Schrift mit einer Reihe von Schriftschnitten von Thin bis Black in zwei verwandten Familien, alle mit erweiterten Zeichensätzen. Die Schriften liefern einen klaren Look, perfekt für Editorial, Branding und Verpackung oder einfach nur, wenn ein Hauch von klassischer Finesse gefragt ist. Hawkland wurde für den Textgebrauch entwickelt und verfügt über 12 Fonts in römischer und kursiver Schrift. Hawkland Fine ist dagegen auf den größeren Einsatz bei Headline- und Displaygrößen abgestimmt und bietet vier zusätzliche Fonts.

Das fantastische Großformat-Schriftmuster wurde von Alistair Hall bei We Made This entworfen und stellt die Schrift und die Vielzahl von Anwendungen vor. Es gibt auch einen erweiterten Text mit dem Titel »Shaping Hawkland«, der die Inspirationen und historischen Wurzeln beschreibt, die zu seinem Design geführt haben.

Das Schriftmuster wurde in kurzer Zeit produziert und ist hier verfügbar.

Weitere Informationen über das Design von Hawkland sowie Entwicklungsskizzen und Referenzen, die die Schrift in einen historischen Kontext darstellen, findet ihr hier.

Hawkland

Foundry: Jeremy Tankard Typography
Designer: Jeremy Tankard
Veröffentlichung: September 2018
Format: Desktop, Web, App
Schnitte: Two families, Hawkland and Hawkland Fine:
Hawkland: Thin, Thin Italic, Light, Light Italic, Regular, Italic, Medium, Medium Italic, Bold, Bold Italic, Black, Black Italic
Hawkland Fine: Thin, Thin Italic, ExtraLight, ExtraLight Italic, Light, Light Italic, Regular, Italic, Medium, Medium Italic, Bold, Bold Italic, ExtraBold, ExtraBold Italic, Black, Black Italic
Preis: Ab £80 GBP für die erste Schriftart mit zusätzlichen Schriftarten aus der gleichen Familie bei 50%.