100 Ways to Move an A

Author: Eva Lotta Landskron

The project “100 Ways to Move an A” by Ricardo Meyer questions the results-oriented design and puts the process in the foreground. It was created as a personal project in addition to a semester assignment at the FH Potsdam on the design of a dynamic character set. Since Ricardo was new to the field of motion design, he put the course task to his needs.

According to one of the guiding principles of Sister Corita Kent “If you work it will lead to something” the idea was sought in the design and not in the sketch. The result is the indefinite design of 100 moving characters. It invalidates the directly analyzing thoughts in the process and leads to new, unexpected results.

2019-02-26_5c75703366588_100WaysToMoveAnA_3red 2019-02-26_5c757033665cf_100WaysToMoveAnA_4red 2019-02-26_5c75703366614_100WaysToMoveAnA_5red 2019-02-26_5c75703366665_100WaysToMoveAnA_6red 2019-02-26_5c75703366705_100WaysToMoveAnA_8red 2019-02-26_5c75703366751_100WaysToMoveAnA_9red

100 Ways to Move an A

Dynamic Type

Autor: Ricardo Meyer

Das Projekt »100 Ways to Move an A« von Ricardo Meyer hinterfragt die ergebnisorientierte Gestaltung und setzt den Prozess in den Vordergrund. Es ist als persönliches Projekt neben einer Semesteraufgabe an der FH Potsdam über die Gestaltung eines dynamischen Schriftsatzes entstanden. Da Ricardo neu im Bereich »Bewegtbild« war, legte er die Kursaufgabe seinen Bedürfnissen nach aus.

Ganz nach einem der Leitsätze von Sister Corita Kent »If you work it will lead to something« wurde die Idee für die Schrift in der Gestaltung und nicht in der Skizze gesucht. Das Resultat ist die unbestimmte Gestaltung von 100 bewegten Zeichen. Es setzt den direkt analysierenden Gedanken im Prozess außer Kraft und führt zu neuen unerwarteten Ergebnissen.

2019-02-26_5c75703366588_100WaysToMoveAnA_3red 2019-02-26_5c757033665cf_100WaysToMoveAnA_4red 2019-02-26_5c75703366614_100WaysToMoveAnA_5red 2019-02-26_5c75703366665_100WaysToMoveAnA_6red 2019-02-26_5c75703366705_100WaysToMoveAnA_8red 2019-02-26_5c75703366751_100WaysToMoveAnA_9red