Brandes Interactions, Drainting, Frei – Selbstständig arbeiten als Designer

New publications at Hermann Schmidt

Author: Isabella Krüger

Today we would like to present three publications from the publishing house Herrmann Schmidt: Branded Interactions, Drainting and Frei – Selbstständig arbeiten als Designer.

Branded Interaction Design (BIxD)—the brand-compatible design of interactive applications—goes far beyond visual design. Digital touchpoints are integral components of current brand communication. The number and shape of these brand contact points is growing rapidly. To play on them coherently in the sense of the brand presents companies and agencies with new challenges. Complex user experience designs can only be created in a workflow that closely intermeshes conception, design and IT and integrates consistent prototyping and testing. This changes everyday agency life. And the job description of the designer. With their agency think moto, Katja Wenger and Marco Spies accompany well-known companies on their way through digital transformation.

Brandes Interactions

Author: Katja Wenger, Marco Spies
Design: Katrin Schacke
Volume: 360 pages with over 300 illustrations, diagrams, sample forms and pictograms
Format: 20 × 26,5 cm
Bookbinding: Thread-stitched stiff brochure
Workmanship: Printed throughout in three special colours, thread-stitched bright white stiff brochure with round back, two-colour screen printing, two-colour softouch cover, with three-sided turquoise-green leaf cut
Language: German
ISBN: 978-3-87439-907-4
Buy at Slanted Shop

Drainting is what Felix Scheinberger calls the intuitive combination of painting and drawing. In this way he cancels the centuries-old separation between painting surfaces and drawing lines, which is now completely unnecessary, and combines the best of both worlds. As long as you were a child, you used the paint box to paint surfaces and pencils to draw details or lines. Intuitively and naturally.

Then one learned the difference between “drawing” and “painting” and with that the difficulties began. Where there are no outlines at all, it is necessary to find them abstractly. This means that you have to grasp everything with the first strokes: Proportion and perspective, contrast and texture, the big picture and the details. Because this rarely succeeds, frustration is inevitable. Painting and drawing become Drainting!

Drainting

Author: Felix Scheinberger
Format: 21 × 24 cm
Length: 160 pages
Workmanship: Thread-stitched half-linen tape
Language: German
ISBN: 978-3-87439-897-8
Buy at Slanted Shop

In 17 “digestible” chapters Nicolas Uphaus guides you to the start and through a final check phase before jumping into independence. He even supports you with the actual foundation. The experienced guide through the mountain of documents, which you have to keep an overview of at this moment. Then he can start his everyday life. Here you lay the foundations for easy order or chaos that will eat you up sooner or later. If you create good structures here, you will later have time for what you actually want: to create!

Frei – Selbstständig arbeiten als Designer

Author: Nicolas Uphaus
Design and illustrations: Anna Lindner on a basic concept by Roland Stieger and Matthias Christ
Release date: October 2018
Format: 16,7 × 24 cm
Volume: 336 pages
Workmanship: Embossed half-linen tape with a wrapping paper cover made of Muscat recycling paper and punched handle register
Language: German
ISBN: 978-3-87439-892-3
Buy at Slanted Shop

Branded Interactions, Drainting, Frei – Selbstständig arbeiten als Designer

Neuveröffentlichungen im Verlag Hermann Schmidt

Autor: Isabella Krüger

Heute möchten wir euch drei Publikationen aus dem Verlag Herrmann Schmidt vorstellen: Branded Interactions, Drainting und Frei – Selbstständig arbeiten als Designer.

Branded Interaction Design (BIxD) – die markengerechte Gestaltung interaktiver Anwendungen – geht weit über die visuelle Gestaltung hinaus. Digitale Touchpoints sind integrale Bestandteile aktueller Markenkommunikation. Die Anzahl und Form dieser Marken-Kontaktpunkte wächst rasant. Sie kohärent im Sinne der Marke zu bespielen, stellt Unternehmen und Agenturen vor neue Herausforderungen. Komplexe User-Experience-Designs entstehen nur in einem Workflow, der Konzeption, Gestaltung und IT eng verzahnt und konsequentes Prototyping und Testing integriert. Das verändert den Agenturalltag. Und das Berufsbild des Designers. Katja Wenger und Marco Spies begleiten mit ihrer Agentur think moto namhafte Unternehmen auf dem Weg durch die digitale Transformation.

Branded Interaction Design

Autor: Katja Wenger, Marco Spies
Gestaltung: Katrin Schacke
Umfang: 360 Seiten mit über 300 Abbildungen, Diagrammen, Musterformularen und Piktogrammen
Format: 20 × 26,5 cm
Buchbindung: Fadengeheftete Steifbroschur
Ausführung: Durchgehend in drei Sonderfarben gedruckt, fadengeheftete leuchtweiße Steifbroschur mit rundem Rücken mit zweifarbigem Siebdruck, zweifarbiger Softouch-Überzug, mit dreiseitigem türkisgrünen Blattschnitt
Sprache: Deutsch
ISBN: 978-3-87439-907-4
Im Slanted Shop kaufen

Drainting nennt Felix Scheinberger die intuitive Kombination von Malen und Zeichnen. Damit hebt er die jahrhundertealte heute vollkommen unnötige Trennung zwischen Flächen malen und Linien zeichnen auf und verbindet das Beste aus beiden Welten. Solange man ein Kind war, hat man zum Malen von Flächen nach dem Farbkasten gegriffen und zum Zeichnen von Details oder Linien zu Stiften. Intuitiv und selbstverständlich.

Dann erlernte man den Unterschied zwischen »Zeichnen« und »Malen« und damit fingen die Schwierigkeiten an. Wo es nämlich gar keine Umrisslinien gibt, gilt es, diese abstrakt zu (er)finden. Das bedeutet, dass man mit den ersten Strichen alles erfassen müssen: Proportion und Perspektive, Kontrast und Textur, das große Ganze und die Details. Weil das selten gelingt, ist Frust vorprogrammiert. Aus Malen (Painting) und Zeichnen (Drawing) wird Drainting!

Drainting

Autor: Felix Scheinberger
Format: 21 × 24 cm
Umfang: 160 Seiten
Buchbindung: Fadengehefteter Halbleinenband
Sprache: Deutsch
ISBN: 978-3-87439-897-8
Im Slanted Shop kaufen

In 17 »verdaubaren« Kapiteln geleitet Euch Nicolas Uphaus an den Start und durch eine letzte Checkphase vor dem Sprung in die Selbstständigkeit. Er unterstützt sogar bei der eigentlichen Gründung. Der erfahrene Führer durch den Berg von Unterlagen, über die es in diesem Moment den Überblick zu bewahren gilt. Dann kann er losgehen, der Gestaltungs-Alltag. Hier legt Ihr die Grundlagen für einfach beherrschbare Ordnung oder ein Chaos, welches Euch früher oder später auffrisst. Wenn Ihr hier gute Strukturen schafft, habt Ihr später Zeit für das, was Ihr eigentlich wollt: gestalten!

Frei – Selbstständig arbeiten als Designer

Autor: Nicolas Uphaus
Gestaltung und Illustrationen: Anna Lindner auf einem Grundkonzept von Roland Stieger und Matthias Christ
Veröffentlichung: Oktober 2018
Format: 16,7 × 24 cm
Umfang: 336 Seiten
Ausführung: Geprägter Halbleinenband mit einem Packpapier-Überzug aus Muskat-Recycling-Papier und gestanztem Griffregister
Sprache: Deutsch
ISBN: 978-3-87439-892-3
Im Slanted Shop kaufen

F_2 A GESCHICHTE.indd F_2 A GESCHICHTE.indd F_2 A GESCHICHTE.indd F_2 A GESCHICHTE.indd 9783874398978.IN14 9783874398978.IN106 9783874398978.IN30 9783874398978.IN16 F_2 A GESCHICHTE.indd F_2 A GESCHICHTE.indd 9783874398923.IN07 F_2 A GESCHICHTE.indd