Fontmoji Mobile App

Bringing Color Fonts to Messaging

Fontmoji Mobile App

Author: Will Brook

Color fonts—where font letters can have multiple colors, shapes and texture—are still fairly new. Even though they’ve been around since 2016 many typographers have yet to really experiment with color fonts or even hear about them at all. That said, their use is growing and now being adapted for use in mobile messaging for the first time. The first mobile app to adopt color fonts for messaging is Fontmoji.

Fontmoji uses color fonts to allow people send expressive messages or “fontmojis.” Their iOS keyboard converts messages from iMessage’s default San Francisco font to over 80 available fonts. These color fonts have letters shaped out of birthday cake, balloons, fire, water, chocolate, and pencils, to name a few. Some of these fonts use the older Truetype font format, but most of their available fonts are color fonts, using the Opentype SVG format.

Interestingly, they’ve recognized that color fonts allow fans to engage with their favorite brands. Previous font formats didn’t allow brand logos with complex texture or multiple colors to be rendered into a font—any complex texture or multiple colors would be lost. Now smash hit TV shows like Game of Thrones and Stranger Things to video games like PUBG & Fortnite can be rendered as completely identical fonts.

It will be interesting to see how color font technology further evolves our modern day communication.

Get the App here.

Fontmoji Mobile App

Bringe Farbschriften in deinen Messenger

Fontmoji Mobile App

Autor: wbrooke

Bunte Schriften, bei denen die Buchstaben mehrere Farben, Formen und Strukturen haben können, sind noch relativ neu. Auch wenn es sie seit 2016 gibt, haben viele Typografen noch nicht wirklich mit Farbschriften experimentiert oder überhaupt etwas davon gehört. Sie werden jedoch immer häufiger eingesetzt und wurden nun erstmals für eine App angepasst: Fontmoji.

Fontmoji verwendet Farbschriften, um den Benutzern das Senden aussagekräftiger Nachrichten oder »fontmojis« zu ermöglichen. Die iOS-Tastatur konvertiert Nachrichten aus der iMessage-Standardschrift Helvetica Neue in über 80 verfügbare Schriftarten. Diese Farbschriften haben zum Beispiel Buchstaben aus Geburtstagskuchen, Luftballons, Feuer, Wasser, Schokolade oder Bleistiften. Einige dieser Schriftarten verwenden das ältere TrueType Schriftformat, aber die meisten ihrer verfügbaren Schriftarten sind Farbschriftarten, die das OpenType SVG-Format verwenden.

Interessanterweise haben große Marken erkannt, dass Farbschriften den Fans erlauben, sich mit ihnen zu identifizieren. Bei früheren Schriftformaten konnten Markenlogos mit komplexer Textur oder mehreren Farben nicht als Schrift dargestellt werden. Schriften von TV-Serien wie Game of Thrones und Stranger Things oder Videospiele wie PUBG & Fortnite, können als völlig identische Schriftarten gerendert werden.

Hier bekommst du die App.