34th Poster Competition of the German National Association for Student Affairs

Author: Sebastian Schubmehl

For the winter semester 2019/2020, the Deutsches Studentenwerk (German National Association for Student Affairs) is launching its poster competition for the 34th time. The topic this time will be: “I study—why should I care about research?”. With its current poster competition for design students, the Deutsches Studentenwerk (DSW), together with the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation,) is asking what research means for today’s students. What significance do science and research have in the studies and everyday life of students? What is research for them—duty, desire, everyday life or a distant goal? Would students like to do more research during their studies? What would they like to research and what for?

The new poster competition is part of the DFG campaign “DFG 2020-Deciding for Knowledge.” With this campaign, Germany’s largest research funding organisation aims to promote free and knowledge-driven research. The competition will be advertised nationwide at all state and state approved design universities starting in the winter semester 2019/2020.

A jury of five experts will distribute a total of 10,000 euros in prize money. In addition, the German Research Foundation awards a special prize of 3,000 euros. The 29 best posters will tour Germany for two years and will be exhibited in various locations. The competition is sponsored by the Federal Ministry of Education (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, BMBF) and the Museum for Communication Berlin (Museum für Kommunikation Berlin)—a long-standing cooperation partner.

The competition is open to students of graphic design, communication design and visual communication. The closing date for applications is November 3rd, 2019. The posters must be submitted by mid-January 2020.

Information on the competition and registration can be found here.

34. Plakatwettbewerb des Deutschen Studentenwerks

»Ich studiere – was geht mich Forschung an?«

Autor: Sebastian Schubmehl

Zum Wintersemester 2019/2020 lobt das Deutsche Studentenwerk zum 34. Mal seinen Plakatwettbewerb aus. Das Thema lautet dieses Mal: »Ich studiere – was geht mich Forschung an?« Mit seinem aktuellen Plakatwettbewerb für Design-Studierende fragt das Deutsche Studentenwerk (DSW) gemeinsam mit der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), was Forschung für die Studierenden von heute bedeutet. Welchen Stellenwert haben Wissenschaft und Forschung in Studium und Alltag von Studierenden? Was ist Forschung für sie – Pflicht, Kür, Alltag oder fernes Ziel? Würden Studierende gerne in ihrem Studium mehr forschen? Was würden sie gerne erforschen und warum?

Der Wettbewerb ist eingebettet in die DFG-Kampagne »DFG 2020 – Für das Wissen entscheiden«. Mit dieser Kampagne will Deutschlands größte Forschungsförderorganisation für eine freie und erkenntnisgeleitete Forschung werben. Der Wettbewerb wird zum beginnenden Wintersemester 2019/2020 an allen staatlichen und staatlich anerkannten Design-Hochschulen bundesweit ausgeschrieben.

Eine fünfköpfige Fachjury verteilt insgesamt 10.000 Euro Preisgeld. Zusätzlich vergibt die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft einen Sonderpreis in Höhe von 3.000 Euro. Die 29 besten Plakate touren zwei Jahre lang durch Deutschland und werden in verschiedenen Studenten – und Studierendenwerken ausgestellt. Gefördert wird der Wettbewerb vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), langjähriger Kooperationspartner ist das Museum für Kommunikation Berlin.

Teilnahmeberechtigt sind Studierende der Fächer Grafik-Design, Kommunikationsdesign und Visuelle Kommunikation. Anmeldeschluss ist der 3. November 2019. Die Plakate müssen bis Mitte Januar 2020 eingereicht werden.
Informationen zu Wettbewerb und Anmeldung gibt es hier.