Typeface of the Month: Halvar

by TypeMates

Author: Isabella Krüger

The Halvar family stands firm, serious, and self-confident on paper and impresses with its unobtrusive clarity. The total of 162 styles offer a wide selection, which allows the Halvar to be used in many areas. A stencil font emphasises the industrial character of the Halvar.

With bulky proportions and constructed forms, Halvar is a pragmatic grotesk with the raw charm of an engineer. A type system ready to explore, Halvar has 81 styles, wide to condensed, hairline to black, roman to oblique and then to superslanted, structured into three subfamilies: the wide Breitschrift, regular Mittelschrift and condensed Engschrift. Designed to be as adaptable in application as it is steady in appearance, this spectrum makes Halvar as ideal for complex corporate identity solutions as it is for particular ones. For industrial duties, a stencil display version is also available.

The typeface’s universe is supplemented by a solid stencil and like all TypeMates fonts, this superfamily is available for print + web, embedding and server licensing. As always, you can use a a free Desktop-Demo-Version to test all styles of the typeface.

Halvar Stencil expands on the Halvar universe by building on its industrial attitude: this German-engineered Schablonenschrift is a typeface for construction sites, power stations, data plates and anything that demands visual impact.

Cutting stencils into the letters of Halvar reveals that the typeface is an engineer. With letters parted into circles and rectangles, Halvar Stencil is a practical typeface whose raw character is stabilised with consistency and solid workmanship. With bold weights well-suited to immense and brute uses and light weights that are airy and chic, it has flexibility to match its scale.

Please, max the Gap! Havar Stencil is not only available in three widths, it’s shipped with three sizes of stencilling. From the tight MinGap to the loose Maxgap, this ensures that whether Halvar Stencil is applied to a shipping container or the plaque of a hard carry case, it has the right amount of stencilling for the job.

Complementing all this, Halvar’s multi-plexed functionality means that designers can lighten and darken text in complex settings without worrying about reflowing text or distorted interfaces. Like Halvar, Halvar Stencil has an absolutely consistent character width across all its weights.

With a character set that includes extended Latin, Greek and Cyrillic and supports more than 190 languages, Halvar’s styles have German names and multilingual ambitions. Perfect for cross-market branding. To ensure TypeMates’ usual high standards throughout all glyphs, the Cyrillic and Greek letterforms were developed in consultation with native readers.

Halvar

Foundry: TypeMates
Designer: Lisa Fischbach, Jakob Runge, Nils Thomsen plus, with the extra mile on the Stencil, Paul Eslage
Consulting on Cyrillic: Maria Doreuli, Ilya Ruderman and Yury Ostromentsky
Consulting on Greek: Kostas Bartsokas
Improving the screen performance: Anke Bonk of Alphabet Type

Release: 2019
Format: OTF and TTF for desktop and apps, plus WOFF, WOFF2 and EOT for web
Weights: 162 styles in total, 9 weights from Hairline to Black in 3 widths from Condensed to Extended, multiplied by 2 Slants for Halvar, multiplied by 3 gap sizes for the Stencil
Price: Weight 39.– up to 49.– € (net), complete family 199.– up to 299.– € (net)
The hole type system with 162 weights for 799.– € (net).

instagram.com/typemates
facebook.com/typematesfonts
twitter.com/TypeMatesFonts

Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-01 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-02 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-03 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-04 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-05 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-06 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-07 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-08 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-09 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-10 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-11 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-12 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-13 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-14 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-15 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-16 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-17 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-18

Typeface of the Month: Halvar

von TypeMates

Autor: Isabella Krüger

Die Halvar-Familie steht bestimmt, seriös und selbstbewusst auf dem Papier und überzeugt durch ihre unaufdringliche Klarheit. Die insgesamt 162 Stile bieten eine große Auswahl, wodurch die Halvar in vielen Bereichen Anwendung finden kann. Durch eine Schablonenschrift wird die industrielle Note der Halvar besonders hervorgehoben.

Halvar ist mit ihren industriellen Proportionen und konstruierten Formen eine pragmatische Grotesk-Schrift mit dem rohen Charme von technischen Zeichnungen. Mit 81 Stilen bietet sie ein weites Spektrum von breit bis schmal laufend, von Hairline bis Black, von aufrecht zu Slanted bis hin zu SuperSlanted. In drei Subfamilien strukturiert, mit ausladender Breitschrift, wohl proportionierter Mittelschrift und kompakter Engschrift wird Halvar zu einem Schriftsystem, das sich sowohl in der Anwendung als auch im Erscheinungsbild den Wünschen des Nutzers anpasst. Die Schrift eignet sich daher insbesondere für komplexe wie spezielle Corporate Identity Projekte.

Das Type-Universum wird durch eine solide Schablonenschrift ergänzt und steht Superfamilie für Print + Web, Embedding und Serverlizenzen zur Verfügung. Darüber hinaus können alle Stile der Schrift mit einem wie gewohnt kostenlosen DemoFonts getestet werden.

Halvar Stencil erweitert das Halvar-Universum, indem es auf dessen konstruierten Basis aufbaut: Die solide Schablonenschrift ist eine Schrift für Baustellen, Kraftwerke, Transportbehälter und alles, was visuelle Wirkung erfordert. Durch die Zerlegung der Buchstaben in einzelne Bestandteile wird Halvars Ingenieur-Attitüde besonders deutlich. Halvar Stencil ist eine praktische Schrift, konstruiert aus kreisförmigen und rechteckigen Elementen, deren roher Charakter durch Konsistenz und solide Verarbeitung harmonisiert wird. Von kräftigen Schriftgewichten, die sich für den flächigen Einsatz eignen, bis hin zu feinen Schnitten – Halvar Stencil ist flexibel und passt sich den Wünschen des Nutzers an.

Darüber hinaus hält die Havar Stencil drei optische Größen für die Breiten der Stege bereit. So kann zwischen einem engen MinGap, einem mittleren MidGap und einem großen MaxGap ausgewählt werden. Damit ist sichergestellt, dass Halvar Stencil für jeden Auftrag die optimale Nuance an stencilness zur Verfügung steht – ganz egal ob die Schriftart als großflächiger Druck auf einem Container oder eher kleinteilig als Plakette verwendet wird.

Ergänzend dazu bietet Halvar mit seiner Duplex-Funktion die Möglichkeit, Texte in komplexen Umgebungen aufzuhellen oder zu verdunkeln, ohne dass sich der Nutzer Gedanken über die optische Textstruktur oder verzerrte Umbrüche machen muss. Wie Halvar hat auch Halvar Stencil eine absolut gleichmäßige Zeichenbreite über alle Gewichte hinweg.

Mit ihrem umfangreichen Zeichensatz unterstützt Halvar mit dem lateinischen, griechischen und kyrillischen Alphabet rund 190 Sprachen – perfekt für globales Branding, das sich über Ländergrenzen hinweg behauptet. Um einen hohen Standard in allen Glyphen zu gewährleisten, wurden sowohl die griechischen als auch die kyrillischen Schriftzeichen in Absprache mit Muttersprachlern entwickelt.

Halvar

Schriftverlag: TypeMates
Designer: Lisa Fischbach, Jakob Runge, Nils Thomsen plus, mit der zusätzlichen Meile auf der Stencil, Paul Eslage
Beratung zu Kyrillisch: Maria Doreuli, Ilya Ruderman und Yury Ostromentsky
Consulting on Griechisch: Kostas Bartsokas
Verbesserung der Bildschirmleistung: Anke Bonk von Alphabet Type
Veröffentlichung: 2019
Format: OTF und TTF für Desktop und Apps, plus WOFF, WOFF2 und EOT für Web
Schnitte: 162 Styles insgesamt, 9 Schnitte von Hairline bis Black in 3 Weiten von Condensed bis Extended, multipliziert mit 2 Slanteds für Halvar, multipliziert mit 3 Spaltenweiten für die Stencil
Preis: Einzelschnitt 39,– bis 49,– € (netto), komplette Familien 199,– bis 299,– € (netto)
Das ganze Type-System mit 162 Schnitten 799,– € (netto).

instagram.com/typemates
facebook.com/typematesfonts
twitter.com/TypeMatesFonts

Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-18 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-17 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-16 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-15 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-14 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-13 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-12 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-11 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-10 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-09 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-08 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-07 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-06 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-05 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-04 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-03 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-02 Slanted-TypefaceOfTheMonth-HalvarTypeSystem-TypeMates-01