Lesetypografie

Volume: 344 pages with over 500 mostly colored illustrations and 137 explanatory examples
Format: 21 × 29,7 cm
Price: 39,80 

Typography is not art. Typography is not science. Typography is craft. And typography is there for the reader, not for the designer. These are the premises on which this standard work of book design is based. A solid foundation for your own creative path.

And this foundation is in demand as never before, because despite all print-is-dead doom calls, the printed book seems to have risen from the dead.
Based on centuries of tradition, today's book designers are building new bibliophile declarations of love for reading and the reader. The digital competition has sparked a renaissance of the beautiful book.

Anyone who wants to reinterpret classical craftsmanship in pointed detail must deal with it. He has to know the rules before breaking them. Hans Peter Willberg and Friedrich Forssman have created a basic work of typographic craft with the reading typography, which quickly became the standard work of book design and was »obstetrician« of many excellent books. The future of the book ... is beautiful!

The art of creating beautiful books builds on a centuries-old tradition. It focuses on the one for whom the book is being made: the reader.

To design and equipment
For four editions, reading typography has become a standard reference work for lecturers, students and practitioners. In grateful remembrance of the great teacher Hans Peter Willberg, a few years ago we opted for a reasonably priced softcover edition in order to make the craft knowledge that Willberg and Forssman collected available to a broader public.

Publisher

Verlag Hermann Schmidt

Author
Format in cm (w × h × d)

21 × 29,7 cm

Volume

344 pages with over 500 mostly colored illustrations and 137 explanatory examples

Language

German

Edition

5th edition

Workmanship

Thread-stitched flexcover

ISBN

978-3-87439-800-8

Lesetypografie

Umfang: 344 Seiten mit über 500 meist farbigen Abbildungen und 137 erläuternden Beispielen
Format: 21 × 29,7 cm
Preis: 39,80 

Typografie ist keine Kunst. Typografie ist keine Wissenschaft. Typografie ist Handwerk. Und Typografie ist für den Leser da, nicht für den Gestalter. Das sind die Prämissen, auf die dieses Standardwerk der Buchgestaltung baut. Ein solides Fundament, für den eigenen gestalterischen Weg.

Und dieses Fundament ist gefragt wie nie, denn allen Print-is-dead-Unkenrufen zum Trotz scheint das gedruckte Buch auferstanden von den Totgesagten.
Auf jahrhundertealter Tradition bauen Buchgestalter von heute neue bibliophile Liebeserklärungen an das Lesen und den Leser. Die digitale Konkurrenz hat eine Renaissance des schönen Buches angestoßen.

Wer klassisches Handwerk in pointierten Details neu interpretieren will, muss sich damit auseinandersetzen. Er muss die Regeln kennen, bevor er sie bricht. Hans Peter Willberg und Friedrich Forssman haben mit der Lesetypografie ein Grundlagenwerk des typografischen Handwerks geschaffen, das schnell zum Standardwerk der Buchgestaltung wurde und »Geburtshelfer« vieler ausgezeichneter Bücher war und ist. Die Zukunft des Buches … ist schön!

Die Kunst, schöne Bücher zu gestalten, baut auf eine jahrhundertealte Tradition. Sie stellt denjenigen in den Mittelpunkt, für den das Buch gemacht wird: den Leser.

Zu Gestaltung und Ausstattung
Vier Auflagen lang etablierte sich die Lesetypografie zum Standardwerk für Dozenten, Studierende und Praktiker. In dankbarer Erinnerung an den großen Lehrer Hans Peter Willberg haben wir uns vor einigen Jahren zu einer preisgünstigen Softcoverausgabe entschieden, um das Handwerkswissen, das Willberg und Forssman zusammentrugen, einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Verlag

Verlag Hermann Schmidt

Autor

Friedrich Forssman, Hans Peter Willberg

Format in cm (b × h × t)

21 × 29,7 cm

Umfang

344 Seiten mit über 500 meist farbigen Abbildungen und 137 erläuternden Beispielen

Sprache

Deutsch

Auflage

5. Auflage

Ausführung/Verarbeitung

Fadengeheftetes Flexcover

ISBN

978-3-87439-800-8