Questions? Looking for answers in the middle of somewhere

Lottery

Author: Julia Kahl

This book is about asking and designing Questions. And beyond that, it has just received the Young Book Design Award from 109 submissions. An introduction by Juliane Hohlbaum:

When Prof. Sereina Rothenberger and Prof. David Bennewith invited graphic designers to give lectures at the University of Arts and Design in Karlsruhe, they noticed that there was a certain hesitation amongst students to ask questions. They were convinced that this was not out of a lack of curiosity, but more likely because they felt they might ask the ‘wrong’ questions. So Rothenberger and Bennewith came up with a seminar that was all about asking questions, which is also a valuable skill to have for a graphic designer. In May 2015, they invited Marietta Eugster, Elisabeth Klement and Laura Pappa, Vier5 and Honza Zamojski to an extended interview session at Otl Aicher’s ‘Institut für analoge Studien’ (Institute for analog studies) in Rotis (Germany). The seminar was repeated in November 2017, this time to meet and talk with Wayne Daly, Veronica Ditting, Manuel Krebs (Norm), Vinca Kruk (Metahaven) and Monika Maus.

Over two days, the invited designers were interviewed in a myriad of ways by groups of students, whose ­task it was to learn to conceive, ask, and design questions. Each text in the book was designed by the students who devised and conducted the respective interview. As a second part of the assignment the students had to design a typeface for their text, based on ‘Rotis’, a font released by Otl Aicher in 1989.

A team of students – Friederike Spielmannleitner, Simon Knebl and Béla Meiers – then collected the interviews of both seminars and designed the book. The varied content of the interviews is conspicuously structured into two sections, one for each visit to Rotis. The colours of the book represent the different seasonal atmospheres of the two seminars – a marshmallow in winter-purple and spring-yellow. They are also a homage to the colours the team discovered in Aicher’s work. The two sections are joined by a chapter of illustrative collages that give an atmospheric insight into the two trips to Rotis.

The work produced by students of all age groups is maybe the most contemporary insight you can have in the field of graphic design, since the work reflects their momentary curiosity and interests. It is interesting to question if and to what degree there is already visible differences between the designs made for the 2015 edition and those from 2017.

Friederike Spielmannleitner, Simon Knebl und Béla Meiers have answered a couple of questions on the book:

Why did you decide to publish the results of the seminars?
The invited designers brought a lot of time and interest to the project. This allowed the participating students to develop very free and experimental approaches to the interview format. These sometimes unconventional, but very intensive encounters with the guests, their creative practice and their positions as designers or artists led to highly diverse results. Especially the readiness to experiment, in the way the interviews were conducted, but also later when working on layout and text, makes the material interesting for an audience outside the school context as well. So, the idea of collecting the interview booklets from both seminars in a group publication came up quite early.

What was it like to be both authors and designers in this project? What were the advantages or difficulties?
Mostly, it was exciting for us to have this opportunity to look at the project from different perspectives. Since all three of us had a different relation to the project and the seminars, this double position enabled us to bring our own experiences to the later design process and to include different angles. It was also helpful to be able to relate to the positions of the other participants, to understand their approach and design better and to make this part of the book design as well. For us, there really was no disadvantage, some discussions became even more intense and in the end that led to stronger results.

Can you talk a little about these discussions and the decisions you made on how to deal with the “already existing” material? (The booklets the students made in the seminar)
At the beginning of the project, our discussions about how to incorporate the existing material were completely open. However, we quickly realized that the combination of so many authors and designers and the resulting mix of content and design positions was very valuable. On the one hand it shows how different designers work and on the other hand it is a very contemporary insight into the field of graphic design. Therefore, it was important for us not to change the design of the individual interviews, but to structure them in a way that makes it easier for readers to find their way around.

How did you decide what “extra” material to add?
Part of our work was certainly to bring all the material into one one – one object. This notion and the idea of restructuring already existing content also influenced our discussions and decisions regarding “extra” material. For example, we decided to draw our own font – based on a design by Otl Aicher – for cover, table of contents and foreword in order to frame the whole thing. We also designed a kind of stamp, which contains all important details of the interviews and separates them from each other. The book is divided into two parts, 2015 and 2017; those are complemented by a chapter of illustrative collages that give an atmospheric insight into the two trips to Rotis.

“Questions? – Looking for answers in the middle of somewhere” is now available at Spector Books. We raffle three copies of the book among our readers. To participate in the raffle, write an email with the subject “Questions?” and your postal address (for shipping) til July 1st, 2019, 11 a.m. (UTC+1) to [email protected]. The winner will be drawn after the deadline and contacted by email. Whoever takes part in the raffle agrees to receive news from Slanted and accepts the data protection regulations. The legal recourse is excluded. We wish you good luck!

Questions?
Looking for answers in the middle of somewhere.

Authors: Massimiliano Audretsch, Lorena Castro, Timothée Charon, Adrian Dickhoff, Matthias Gieselmann, Laurine Haller, Johannes Hucht, Bruno Jacoby, Desiree Kabis, Rana Karan, Simon Knebl, Janosch Kratz, Calvin Kudufia, Béla Meiers, Yannick Nuss, Sun Young Oh, Tatjana Pfeiffer, Kathrin Rüll, Simon Schelsky, Henrik Schmitz, Ioanna Spanachi, Tatjana Stürmer, Marcel Strauß, Henriette Wehking, Hendrik Whelan, Jannis Zell, Roman Zimmermanns, Shuaitong Zong
Editors: David Bennewith & Sereina Rothenberger for the Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design, Germany
Design: Béla Meiers, Simon Knebl, Friederike Spielmannleitner
Volume: 496
Language: English
Format: 120 × 190 mm
Publication date: February, 2019
Publisher: Spector Books
ISBN: 9783959052818

Buy here

Q_00_Overview rotis3 rotis rotis4 rotis2 Q_02_Contents Q_06_KlementPappa Q_10_Daly Q_11_Ditting questions_web

Questions? Looking for answers in the middle of somewhere

Verlosung

Autor: Julia Kahl

In diesem Buch werden Fragen gestellt und gestaltet – dazu wurde es gerade aus 109 Einsendungen mit dem Förderpreis für junge Buchgestaltung prämiert. Eine Einführung von Juliane Hohlbaum:

Als Prof. Sereina Rothenberger und Prof. David Bennewith GrafikdesignerInnen zu Vorlesungen an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe einluden, bemerkten sie, dass die Studierenden zögerten, Fragen zu stellen. Sie waren überzeugt, dass dies nicht an mangelnder Neugierde lag, sondern vor allem daran, dass die Studierenden glaubten, sie könnten eventuell die »falschen« Fragen stellen. Deshalb beschlossen Rothenberger und Bennewith ein Seminar anzubieten, bei dem es darum ging, Fragen zu stellen – eine wertvolle Fähigkeit, auch für GrafikdesignerInnen. Im Mai 2015 luden sie Marietta Eugster, Elisabeth Klement und Laura Pappa, Vier5 und Honza Zamojski in Otl Aichers »Institut für analoge Studien« in Rotis (Deutschland) ein. In einer zweiten Auflage des Seminars im November 2017 trafen Studierende dann Wayne Daly, Veronica Ditting, Manuel Krebs (Norm), Vinca Kruk (Metahaven) und Monika Maus zum Gespräch, ebenfalls in Rotis.

Zwei Tage lang wurden die eingeladenen DesignerInnen auf vielfältige Weise von den Studierenden befragt. Deren Aufgabe war es, zu lernen, Fragen zu konzipieren, zu stellen und zu gestalten. Jedes Interview im Buch “Questions” wurde von einer Gruppe Studierender entworfen, die das Gespräch sowohl konzeptionell entwickelten als auch durchführten. Teil der Aufgabe war es ausserdem, für jedes Interview eine eigene Schrift zu entwerfen, die auf der 1989 erschienenen »Rotis« von Otl Aicher basiert.

Ein studentisches Team, bestehend aus Friederike Spielmannleitner, Simon Knebl und Béla Meiers, fasste anschließend die Interviews beider Seminardurchläufe zusammen und gestaltete das Buch. Die sehr unterschiedlichen Inhalte der Interviews sind auffällig in zwei Abschnitte gegliedert, einen für jeden Besuch in Rotis. Die Farbgebung repräsentiert die verschiedenen saisonalen Atmosphären – ein Marshmallow aus Winterlila und Frühlingsgelb – ist auch eine Hommage an die Farbtöne, die das Team in Aichers Werk gefunden hat. Beide Abschnitte werden durch ein Kapitel illustrativer Collagen verbunden, die einen atmosphärischen Einblick in die Reisen nach Rotis geben.

Die von Studierenden aller Altersgruppen produzierten Arbeiten sind vielleicht der zeitgemäßeste Einblick, den man in den Bereich Grafikdesign haben kann, da die Arbeiten jeweils die momentane Neugier und Vorlieben der Studierenden widerspiegeln. Es ist interessant zu hinterfragen, inwiefern es bereits einen sichtbaren Unterschied zwischen den Designs von 2015 und 2017 gibt.

Friederike Spielmannleitner, Simon Knebl und Béla Meiers beantworteten einige Fragen zum Buch:

Wieso habt ihr euch entschieden, die Seminarergebnisse zu publizieren?
Da die eingeladenen Designer/innen viel Interesse und Zeit mitbrachten, bot sich für die teilnehmenden Studierenden die Chance, einen freien und experimentellen Umgang mit dem Format Interview zu erarbeiten. Diese stellenweise unkonventionelle, aber sehr intensive Auseinandersetzung mit den Gästen, ihrer gestalterischen Praxis und ihren Positionen als Designer/innen oder Künstler/innen führte zu einem sehr diversen Ergebnis. Vor allem die Experimentierfreudigkeit in der Art und Weise wie die Interviews geführt wurden, aber auch in der späteren Gestaltung des Textmaterials, macht die Ergebnisse auch für Aussenstehende interessant. Somit entwickelte sich recht schnell der Gedanke, die in den beiden Seminaren entstandenen Interview-Booklets zu einer Publikation zusammenzufassen.

Wie war es für euch sowohl Autoren als auch Designer des Buchs zu sein, wo seht ihr Vor- und wo vielleicht Nachteile?
Zunächst einmal war es für uns spannend die Möglichkeit zu haben, das Projekt aus verschiedenen Perspektiven zu betrachten. Da wir alle drei einen anderen Bezug zu dem Projekt, bzw. zu den Seminaren hatten, ermöglichte es uns diese Diversität im späteren Gestaltungsprozess zu nutzen und die verschieden Blickwinkel zu berücksichtigen.
Ebenfalls war es eine Hilfe uns in die anderen Teilnehmer/innen hineinversetzen zu können, deren Herangehensweise und Gestaltung besser zu verstehen und dies somit in die Buchgestaltung einfließen zu lassen. Einen Nachteil sehen wir darin nicht, manche Diskussionen wurden dadurch sogar intensiver und haben zu einem stärkeren Ergebnis geführt.

Könnt ihr ein wenig über die Diskussionen und Entscheidungen erzählen, die ihr im Umgang mit dem »bereits gestaltetem« Material getroffen habt? (Die vorhandenen Broschüren der Seminarteilnehmer)
Die Diskussion darüber, wie wir mit dem vorhandenen Material umgehen wollen, war am Anfang des Projektes komplett offen. Uns wurde aber recht schnell bewusst, dass die Kombination so vieler Autor/innen und Gestalter/innen und der damit entstandene Mix aus inhaltlichen und gestalterischen Positionen sehr wertvoll ist. Zum einen zeigt er wie unterschiedlich Gestalter/innen arbeiten und zum anderen ist er ein sehr kontemporärer Einblick ins Grafikdesign. Daher war es uns wichtig die Gestaltung der einzelnen Interviews nicht zu verändern, diese aber so zu strukturieren, dass es Lesern und Leserinnen erleichtert wird sich im Buch zurecht zu finden.

Wie habt ihr entschieden, was ihr den Interviews »extra« hinzugeben wollt?
Ein Teil unsere Arbeit lag sicherlich darin, das ganze Material zu einer Einheit – einem Objekt – zu formen. Von dieser Idee und dem Gedanken den Inhalt zu strukturieren waren dann auch unsere Diskussionen und Entscheidungen hinsichtlich des »Extra-« Materials geprägt. Ganz konkret haben wir uns entschieden eine eigene Schrift – basierend auf einem Entwurf von Otl Aicher – für Cover, Inhaltsverzeichnis und Vorwort zu zeichnen um dem ganzen einen Rahmen zu geben. Des weiteren haben wir eine Art Stempel gestaltet, der alle wichtigen Details der Interviews enthält und diese von einander trennt. Das Buch ist in zwei Teile unterteilt, 2015 und 2017, diese werden durch ein Kapitel illustrativer Collagen ergänzt, die einen atmosphärischen Einblick in die Aufenthalte in Rotis geben.

Questions? – Looking for answers in the middle of somewhere ist nun bei Spector Books erhältlich. Slanted verlost 3 Exemplare des Buches. Um an der Verlosung teilzunehmen, schreibt eine Email mit dem Betreff »Questions?« und Angabe eurer Postadresse (für den Versand) bis 01. Juli 2019, 11 Uhr (UTC+1) an verlosung@slanted.deDer Gewinner wird nach Ablauf der Frist ausgelost und per Email kontaktiert. Wer an der Verlosung teilnimmt, erklärt sich damit einverstanden, News von Slanted zu erhalten und erkennt die Datenschutzbestimmungen an. Der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen. Wir wünschen euch viel Glück!

Questions?
Looking for answers in the middle of somewhere.

Autoren: Massimiliano Audretsch, Lorena Castro, Timothée Charon, Adrian Dickhoff, Matthias Gieselmann, Laurine Haller, Johannes Hucht, Bruno Jacoby, Desiree Kabis, Rana Karan, Simon Knebl, Janosch Kratz, Calvin Kudufia, Béla Meiers, Yannick Nuss, Sun Young Oh, Tatjana Pfeiffer, Kathrin Rüll, Simon Schelsky, Henrik Schmitz, Ioanna Spanachi, Tatjana Stürmer, Marcel Strauß, Henriette Wehking, Hendrik Whelan, Jannis Zell, Roman Zimmermanns, Shuaitong Zong
Herausgeber/innen: David Bennewith & Sereina Rothenberger, Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe, Deutschland
Design: Béla Meiers, Simon Knebl, Friederike Spielmannleitner
Verlag: Spector Books
Umfang: 496
Sprache: Englisch
Format: 120 × 190 mm
Veröffentlichung: February, 2019
ISBN: 9783959052818

Hier kaufen! 

Q_00_Overview rotis rotis3 rotis2 rotis4 Q_02_Contents Q_06_KlementPappa Q_10_Daly Q_11_Ditting questions_web