Tÿpo St. Gallen 2019

Designers in search of “balance” in everyday professional life

Author: Isabella Krüger

It is not easy to keep your balance in the turbulence of everyday work life. The fifth new edition of Tÿpo St. Gallen is dedicated to this topic in all its forms and facets—the industry meeting place for designers, which enjoys the highest reputation far beyond the borders of Eastern Switzerland. The three-day typography symposium is organized by Schule für Gestaltung St. Gallen and will take place from November 8th until 10th, 2019.

This year’s Tÿpo St. Gallen will focus on the topic of balance. What is a good balance anyway? How can it be achieved? Simple recipes, rigid rules or truisms usually prove useless. What proves itself in the stream of all those processes that thwart everyday life, projects, ideas and plans? These are the questions Tÿpo St. Gallen asks its speakers.

Among the 12 expert speakers from Switzerland, Germany, Austria and the Netherlands, visitors can look forward to the following names:

Andreas Uebele studied architecture and urban planning at the University of Stuttgart and free graphic design at the Kunstakademie Stuttgart. In 1996 he founded his own office for visual communication in Stuttgart, which he has been running together with Carolin Himmel since 2016. Büro Uebele works in all areas of visual communication, focusing on visual identity, information and orientation systems, corporate communication and web design.

Hans and Sabine Bockting live and work as freelance design consultants and graphic designers in Amsterdam. Sabine Bockting Reinhardt studied visual communication at the Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences. After working for agencies in Germany and the Netherlands, she ran the Bockting Ontwerpers office in Amsterdam together with Hans Bockting from 2007 to 2017. Hans Bockting studied at the Academie voor kunst en industrie (aki) in Enschede and then worked until 1970 as Art Director and co-founder in various agencies in The Hague and Amsterdam.

Anika Kunst and Lilo Schäfer talk about the transition from studies to the reality of design life. It will be a testimonial from the point of view of two ambitious and motivated designers who deal with the questions of life: How do I want to live? How can I work? When do I have a family? Anika Kunst studied communication design in Düsseldorf. She deals with visual text images, concrete poetry and typographic experiments. Lilo Schäfer studied communication design in Düsseldorf and did research on design history. She is currently working on the structuring and digitalisation of archives and on character recognition using artificial neural networks.

Tickets and registration
Professionals: 398.– CHF
Students: 199.– CHF
The price includes aperitif on Friday, lunch on Saturday and all refreshments during the breaks.

When?
November 8th until 10th, 2019

Where?
Gewerbliches Berufs- und Weiterbildungszentrum St. Gallen 
Schule für Gestaltung
Demutstrasse 115 
9012 St. Gallen
Schwitzerland

Tÿpo St. Gallen 2019

Gestalter auf der Suche nach »Balance« im Berufsalltag

Autor: Isabella Krüger

Im Wirbel des bewegten Berufsalltags ist es nicht einfach, Balance zu halten. Diesem Thema in allen Formen und Facetten widmet sich die fünfte Neuauflage der Tÿpo St. Gallen – dem Branchentreff der Gestalter, der weit über die Ostschweizer Grenzen höchstes Ansehen geniesst. Das dreitägige Typografie-Symposium wird von der Schule für Gestaltung St. Gallen organisiert und findet vom 8. bis 10. November 2019 statt.

Bei der diesjährigen  Tÿpo St. Gallen steht das Thema Balance in den Mittelpunkt. Was ist überhaupt eine gute Balance? Wie ist sie zu erreichen? Einfache Rezepte, starre Regeln oder Binsenweisheiten erweisen sich meist als unbrauchbar. Was bewährt sich im Strom all jener Prozesse, die den Alltag, Projekte, Ideen und Vorhaben durchkreuzen? Diese Fragen stellt die Tÿpo St. Gallen ihren Sprecherinnen und Sprechern.

Unter den insgesamt 12 Fachreferenten aus der Schweiz, Deutschland, Österreich und den Niederlanden dürfen die Besucher besonders gespannt sein auf die folgenden Namen:

Andreas Uebele studierte Architektur und Städtebau an der Universität Stuttgart und freie Grafik an der Kunstakademie Stuttgart. 1996 gründete er sein eigenes Büro für visuelle Kommunikation in Stuttgart, das er seit 2016 gemeinsam mit Carolin Himmel betreibt. Büro Uebele arbeitet in allen Bereichen der visuellen Kommunikation, Schwerpunkte sind visuelle Identität, Informations- und Orientierungssysteme, Unternehmenskommunikation und Webdesign.

Hans und Sabine Bockting leben und arbeiten als freiberufliche Designberater und Grakfikdesigner in Amsterdam. Sabine Bockting Reinhardt studierte visuelle Kommunikation an der Fachhochschule Bielefeld. Nach Stationen bei Agenturen in Deutschland und den Niederlanden führte sie gemeinsam von 2007 bis 2017 mit Hans Bockting das Büro Bockting Ontwerpers in Amsterdam. Hans Bockting studierte an der Academie voor kunst en industrie (aki) in Enschede und arbeitete anschliessend bis 1970 als Art Director und Mitgründer in verschiedenen Agenturen in Den Haag und Amsterdam.

Anika Kunst und Lilo Schäfer sprechen über den Übergang vom Studium in die Wirklichkeit des Gestaltungslebens. Es wird ein Erfahrungsbericht aus der Sicht zweier ambitionierter und motivierter Gestalterinnen, welche sich mit den Fragen des Lebens beschäftigen: Wie will ich leben? Wie kann ich arbeiten? Wann habe ich Familie? Anika Kunst studierte Kommunikationsdesign in Düsseldorf. Sie befasst sich mit visuellen Textbildern, konkreter Poesie und typografischen Experimenten. Lilo Schäfer studierte Kommunikationsdesign in Düsseldorf und forschte währenddessen über Designgeschichte. Aktuell arbeitet sie an der Strukturierung und Digitalisierung von Archiven sowie an Schrifterkennung mithilfe von künstlichen neuronalen Netzen.

Tickets und Anmeldung
Professionals: 398,– CHF
Studenten: 199,– CHF
Mit im Preis inbegriffen sind Apéro am Freitag, Mittagessen am Samstag und sämtliche Pausenerfrischungen.

Wann?
8. bis 10. November 2019

Wo?
Gewerbliches Berufs- und Weiterbildungszentrum St. Gallen 
Schule für Gestaltung
Demutstrasse 115 
9012 St. Gallen
Schweiz

SCHWEIZ TYPO ST.GALLEN 2017 RESONANZ SCHWEIZ TYPO ST.GALLEN 2017 RESONANZ SCHWEIZ TYPO ST.GALLEN 2017 RESONANZ